Information for lawyers

Mentoring opportunities at Legal Aid Ontario

Lawyers can benefit from a number of LAO mentorship opportunities. A summary of these is listed here:

Second Chair Program

Directed exclusively at private bar lawyers who are working on LAO-funded cases, the Second Chair program allows new or mid-career lawyers to benefit from the knowledge and experience of more experienced or senior lawyers. One lawyer serves as the “second chair” on a case, providing new or mid-career lawyers with an opportunity to obtain hands-on training from more experienced or senior counsel.

The Second Chair program was launched in 2014, and is administered by LAO’s Policy & Strategic Research department. It is the only mentorship program offered by LAO that provides compensation.

There are two types of Second Chair opportunities:

Case-by-case stream:

Where either the mentee or mentor lawyer is working on, and requires assistance for, a particularly interesting legal aid case which is also a good learning opportunity.

Pre-approved mentor stream:

Senior lawyers (mentors) may obtain approval for a pre-determined number of mentoring hours each fiscal year, which can be used for different legal aid cases and/or to mentor different junior lawyers.

Download the pre-approved mentor application form here.

Questions?

Email secondchair@lao.on.ca.

General information is available here.

LAO LAW Case-by-Case Mentorship Program

The Case-by-Case Mentorship Program is administered by LAO LAW.

LAO LAW has created an approved list of mentors who provide advice via email to certificate lawyers who have questions regarding practice and certificate matters. Questions submitted electronically are fielded through LAO LAW, who will contact lawyers on the approved list of mentors to ensure availability.

Questions will be forwarded to mentors on a rotating basis, to avoid excessive demand on individual mentor’s time.

Lawyers wishing to access this service must log in to LAO LAW’s website, where they will be provided with a response and advice within 48 hours.

Note that while LAO LAW’s services are provided free of charge, lawyers accessing the services must be registered with LAO and be representing a client using a legal aid certificate.

Access LAO LAW’s online resources, including the Case-by-case Mentorship program here.

Questions?

Lawyers may contact LAO LAW by:

  • Phone: 416 979-1321/toll-free 1-800-265-1392
  • Fax: 416 979-8946
  • Email: laolaw@lao.on.ca

Mentorships for LAO lawyer panels

The following mentorships for LAO lawyer panels are administered by the director general in the district where a panel lawyer practices.

One-on-one mentoring

One-on-one mentorship is relatively informal and LAO expects the scope of the mentor-mentee relationship to be agreed upon and structured by the mentors and mentees. LAO has developed a tip sheet to assist with defining the scope of the relationship, which is available here.

One-on-one mentoring can be arranged through the district offices. Some maintain a local roster of mentors who have been approved, in advance, by the director general. In districts where a pre-approved list of mentors does not exist, the mentee may identify a mentor and submit the details to the director general for approval. If a mentee is having difficulty identifying a potential mentor, the district office may be able to assist. Mentors who provide one-on-one mentoring do so on a volunteer basis.

Mentors and mentees who are participating in one-on-one mentorship may be asked to sign a Mentoring Acknowledgment/Agreement, which should be submitted to the appropriate district office.

Individuals wishing to participate in LAO's one-on-one mentoring program should contact their district office. Contact information for each district is available here.

Mentoring agreement or agreement to acquire experience for new panel lawyers

Lawyers who wish to join an LAO certificate panel, but do not meet the requisite panel standards (for example, junior lawyers who have not practiced for the required number of years) may seek conditional acceptance to the panel, provided the lawyer meets certain conditions. For example, the lawyer must agree to be mentored by a more senior panel lawyer who has been approved by the district's director general.

The goal is to ensure that the lawyer gains experience and familiarity with LAO's processes and procedures. The signed Mentoring Agreement or Agreement to Acquire Experience should be provided to the appropriate district office.

Lawyers may be asked to sign a Mentoring Agreement written by the district, or an Agreement to Acquire Experience to enter into a mentoring relationship with a lawyer who has been in practice for five years or more, and is a member in good standing of LAO's panel.

In some districts, the mentee can use a list of pre-approved mentors available at the district office to identify a mentor. In districts where a pre-approved list of mentors does not exist, the mentee may identify a mentor and submit the details to the director general for approval. If a mentee is having difficulty identifying a potential mentor, the district office may be able to assist.

New lawyers applying to the panel must complete the application and forward it to the regional manager of legal services.

More information on panel standards can be found here.

Shadowing opportunities for new duty counsel panel lawyers

Lawyers interested in joining the duty counsel panel may take advantage of opportunities to shadow experienced duty counsel to gain an understanding of the pace and nature of duty counsel work. These opportunities will be identified by and coordinated with the district director general or the local supervisory duty counsel.

Lawyers wishing to join the duty counsel panel must apply to the manager of duty counsel services or the relevant supervisory duty counsel.

More information about the duty counsel panel is available here.

Renseignements à l'intention des avocats et avocates

Possibilités de mentorat à Aide juridique Ontario

Les avocats peuvent profiter d’un certain nombre de possibilités de mentorat offertes par AJO. En voici un résumé :

Programme d’assistance

Réservé exclusivement aux avocats du secteur privé qui travaillent sur des causes financées par AJO, le programme d’assistance permet aux avocats débutants ou à mi-carrière de bénéficier des connaissances et de l’expérience d’avocats plus expérimentés ou chevronnés. Puisque l’un des avocats seconde l’autre, un avocat débutant ou à mi-carrière a l’occasion de recevoir une formation pratique d’un avocat plus expérimenté ou chevronné.

Le programme d’assistance a été lancé en 2014, il est géré par le Service des politiques et de la recherche stratégique d’AJO. C’est le seul programme de mentorat offert par AJO qui offre une rémunération.

Le programme d’assistance comporte deux volets :

Approbation au cas par cas :

Lorsque le mentoré ou l’avocat mentor travaille sur un dossier d’aide juridique particulièrement intéressant et qu’il a besoin d’aide, ce qui constitue également une bonne occasion d’apprentissage.

Mentorat préautorisé :

Les avocats principaux (mentors) peuvent obtenir une autorisation préalable pour un nombre fixe d’heures de mentorat pour chaque exercice financier. Un avocat chevronné peut utiliser ces heures dans le cadre de plusieurs causes d’aide juridique et pour mentorer plusieurs avocats débutants.

Téléchargez le formulaire de demande d’heures pré-autorisées ici.

Questions?

Courriel : secondchair@lao.on.ca

Vous trouverez des renseignements d’ordre général ici.

Programme de mentorat au cas par cas de LAO LAW

Le Programme de mentorat au cas par cas est géré par LAO LAW.

LAO LAW a créé une liste de mentors approuvés qui fournissent des conseils aux avocats travaillant sur une affaire au titre d’un certificat. Ces mentors répondent par courriel aux questions portant sur ladite affaire ou la pratique du droit. Les questions transmises par voie électronique sont traitées par l’entremise de LAO LAW, qui communique avec les avocats figurant sur la liste des mentors approuvés pour s’assurer de leur disponibilité.

Dans le but d’éviter d’imposer aux mentors un fardeau excessif, LAO LAW leur fait parvenir les questions à tour de rôle.

Les avocats qui souhaitent accéder à ce service doivent se connecter sur le site Web de LAO LAW, où ils recevront une réponse et des conseils dans les 48 heures.

Il est à noter que même si les services de LAO LAW sont fournis à titre gracieux, les avocats qui souhaitent y accéder doivent être inscrits auprès d’AJO et représenter un client dans le cadre d’un certificat d’aide juridique.

Accédez ici aux ressources en ligne de LAO LAW, y compris au programme de mentorat au cas par cas.

Questions?

Les avocats peuvent contacter LAO LAW par les moyens suivants :

  • Téléphone : 416 979-1321 / Sans frais  1 800 265-1392
  • Télécopieur : 416 979-8946
  • Courriel : laolaw@lao.on.ca

Mentorat pour les avocats inscrits sur les listes d'AJO

Les services de mentorat qui suivent sont destinés aux avocats inscrits sur les listes d’AJO et sont gérés par le directeur général du district dans lequel l’avocat pratique le droit.

Mentorat individuel

Le mentorat individuel est relativement informel et AJO s'attend à ce que la portée de la relation mentor-mentoré soit convenue et structurée par le mentor et son mentoré. AJO a élaboré une fiche-conseil pour aider à définir l’ampleur de la relation de mentorat, disponible ici.

Un mentorat individuel peut être organisé par l’entremise des bureaux de district. Certains d’entre eux tiennent une liste locale de mentors qui ont été approuvés à l’avance par le directeur général. Dans les districts où il n’existe pas de liste de mentors pré-approuvés, le mentoré peut trouver lui-même un mentor et soumettre les renseignements relatifs à cet avocat à l’approbation du directeur général. Si un mentoré rencontre des difficultés pour trouver un mentor potentiel, le bureau de district peut être en mesure de l’aider. Les mentors qui offrent du mentorat individuel agissent à titre bénévole.

Les mentors et les mentorés qui participent au mentorat individuel peuvent être invités à signer une entente/reconnaissance du mentorat, qui doit être soumise au bureau de district concerné.

Les personnes qui souhaitent participer au programme de mentorat individuel d’AJO doivent communiquer avec leur bureau de district. Les coordonnées de chaque district sont disponibles ici.

Entente de mentorat ou engagement à acquérir de l’expérience pour les avocats nouvellement inscrits sur les listes d’avocats

Les avocats qui souhaitent être inscrits sur une liste d’avocats leur permettant d’accepter des certificats d’AJO, mais qui ne respectent pas les normes de qualité des services requises (par exemple, les avocats débutants qui n’ont pas exercé pendant le nombre d’années requis) peuvent demander une inscription conditionnelle aux listes, à condition que l’avocat remplisse certaines conditions. Par exemple, l’avocat doit accepter d’être mentoré par un avocat plus expérimenté dont le rôle a été approuvé par le directeur général du district.

L’objectif est de s’assurer que l’avocat acquiert de l’expérience et une meilleure connaissance des processus et des procédures d’AJO. L’entente de mentorat ou l’engagement à acquérir de l’expérience signé(e) doit être remis(e) au bureau de district pertinent.

Il peut être demandé aux avocats de signer une entente de mentorat rédigée par le district ou un engagement à acquérir de l’expérience afin d’établir une relation de mentorat avec un avocat qui exerce le droit depuis cinq ans et qui est inscrit sur les listes d’avocats d’AJO.

Dans certains districts, le mentoré peut consulter une liste de mentors pré approuvés disponible au bureau de district pour trouver un mentor. Dans les districts où il n’existe pas de liste de mentors pré-approuvés, le mentoré peut trouver lui-même un mentor et soumettre les renseignements relatifs à cet avocat à l’approbation du directeur général. Si un mentoré rencontre des difficultés pour trouver un mentor potentiel, le bureau de district peut être en mesure de l’aider.

Les avocats nouvellement inscrits au Barreau qui présentent une demande d’inscription sur les listes d’avocats doivent remplir la demande et la transmettre au directeur régional des services juridiques.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les normes des listes d’avocats, cliquez ici.

Possibilités de jumelage pour les avocats de service nouvellement inscrits sur les listes d’avocats d’AJO

Les avocats qui souhaitent être inscrits sur les listes d’avocats de service peuvent profiter des possibilités de jumelage pour observer le travail d’un avocat de service chevronné et comprendre à la fois le rythme et la nature du travail des avocats de service. Ces possibilités seront déterminées et coordonnées par le directeur général de district ou l’avocat de service principal local.

Les avocats qui souhaitent être inscrits sur les listes des avocats de service doivent s’adresser au responsable des services d’avocats de service ou à l’avocat de service principal concerné.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la liste des avocats de service, cliquez ici.