LAO Lawyer Satisfaction Survey results for 2017

Business Intelligence & Statistics
February 2018

Published: February 2018

1. Background & methodology

LAO’s annual Lawyer Satisfaction Survey asks for private bar lawyers’ opinions and feedback on services provided by LAO.

LAO uses this information to measure lawyer satisfaction with different areas of service and identify areas for improvement.

2. Highlights

3. Overall satisfaction with LAO

In 2017, 53% of lawyers had an overall positive opinion about LAO. In 2017, 25% of lawyers had an overall neutral opinion about LAO. In 2017, 22% of lawyers had an overall negative opinion about LAO. In 2016, 56% of lawyers had an averall positive opinion about LAO. In 2016, 26% of lawyers had an overall neutral opinion about LAO. In 2016, 19% of lawyers had an overall negative opinion about LAO. In 2015, 57% of lawyers had an averall positive opinion about LAO. In 2015, 24% of lawyers had an overall neutral opinion about LAO. In 2015, 19% of lawyers had an overall negative opinion about LAO.

“Overall, I was satisfied with my relationship with LAO”

Overall satisfaction dropped slightly compared to last year. About 53% of respondents expressed a positive opinion about LAO. Although this is not a large decrease, LAO is working on identifying business areas that need improvement.

4. Pride in legal aid work

In 2017, 72% of lawyers agree that they felt proud to do legal aid work. In 2017, 18% of lawyers neither agree nor disagree that they felt proud to do legal aid work. In 2017, 72% of lawyers disagree that they felt proud to do legal aid work

“Overall, I felt proud to do Legal Aid work.”

While lawyers expressed various opinions about different aspects of their working relationship with LAO, most of them (72%) felt proud to do legal aid work and help low income Ontarians to access justice.

5. Satisfaction with LAO’s staff services

In 2017, 68% of lawyers had an averall positive opinion about the quality of LAO staff service. In 2017, 19% of lawyers had an overall neutral opinion about the quality of LAO staff service. In 2017, 13% of lawyers had an overall negative opinion about the quality of LAO staff service. In 2016, 65% of lawyers had an averall positive opinion about the quality of LAO staff service. In 2016, 20% of lawyers had an overall neutral opinion about the quality of LAO staff service. In 2016, 15% of lawyers had an overall negative opinion about the quality of LAO staff service. In 2015, 63% of lawyers had an averall positive opinion about the quality of LAO staff service. In 2015, 23% of lawyers had an overall neutral opinion about the quality of LAO staff service. In 2015, 14% of lawyers had an overall negative opinion about the quality of LAO staff service.

“Overall, I was satisfied with the quality of (staff) service”

The proportion of lawyers who expressed a positive view about LAO’s staff is slightly higher than last year.

When asked about specific aspects of LAO staff services, higher proportions of lawyers gave a positive opinion about “staff courtesy” and “staff knowledge” (81% and 70% respectively).

6. Satisfaction with LAO’s online services

In 2017, 58% of lawyers had an overall positive opinion about the quality of LAO online service. In 2017, 26% of lawyers had an overall neutral opinion about the quality of LAO online service. In 2017, 16% of lawyers had an overall negative opinion about the quality of LAO online service. In 2016, 58% of lawyers had an overall positive opinion about the quality of LAO online service. In 2016, 27% of lawyers had an overall neutral opinion about the quality of LAO online service. In 2016, 15% of lawyers had an overall negative opinion about the quality of LAO online service. In 2015, 60% of lawyers had an averall positive opinion about the quality of LAO online service. In 2015, 25% of lawyers had an overall neutral opinion about the quality of LAO online service. In 2015, 15% of lawyers had an overall negative opinion about the quality of LAO online service.

“Overall, I was satisfied with the quality of (online) service”

The proportion of lawyers who expressed a positive view about LAO’s online services is roughly the same compared to the last two years.

About 67% of lawyers have a positive view on accessibility of online services, while 55% thought that LAO’s online services are easy to navigate.

7. Satisfaction with LAO’s billing process

In 2017, 33% of lawyers had an averall positive opinion about billing and payment at LAO. In 2017, 27% of lawyers had an overall neutral opinion about billing and payment at LAO. In 2017, 40% of lawyers had an overall negative opinion about billing and payment at LAO. In 2016, 37% of lawyers had an averall positive opinion about billing and payment at LAO. In 2016, 28% of lawyers had an overall neutral opinion about billing and payment at LAO. In 2016, 35% of lawyers had an overall negative opinion about billing and payment at LAO. In 2015, 38% of lawyers had an averall positive opinion about billing and payment at LAO. In 2015, 28% of lawyers had an overall neutral opinion about billing and payment at LAO. In 2015, 35% of lawyers had an overall negative opinion about billing and payment at LAO.

“Overall, I was satisfied with billing and payment at LAO”

Billing and payment processes, overall, is still challenging for LAO. The percentage of lawyers who view this positively is still the lowest compared to other areas.

About 41% of lawyers expressed a positive view on the billing process and speed of payments compared to only 31% who viewed the payment as “fair”.

8. Future legal aid work

42% of lawyers intend to do more work on behalf of LAO in the next 12 months. 36% of lawyers intend to do the same amount of work on behalf of LAO in the next 12 months. 22% of lawyers intend to do less work on behalf of LAO in the next 12 months.

“Compared to the amount of work you did in the past 12 months, how much work do you intend to do on behalf of LAO in the next 12 months?”

Close to 78% of lawyers would like to do the same amount of legal work, or more, compared to the last 12 months.

Legal Aid Ontario (LAO), an independent but publicly funded and publicly accountable non-profit corporation. None of this material may be commercially reproduced, but copying for other purposes, with credit, is encouraged.

© 1998-2016 Legal Aid Ontario, all rights reserved

^

Résultats du sondage d'AJO de 2017 sur la satisfaction des avocats

Veille stratégique et Statistiques
Février 2018

Publié  Février 2018

1. Contexte et méthodologie

Aide juridique Ontario (AJO) effectue annuellement un sondage sur la satisfaction des avocats du secteur privé dans le but de recueillir leurs avis et commentaires sur les services qu'elle procure.

AJO se sert de ces renseignements pour mesurer la satisfaction globale des avocats à l'égard des différents domaines de services et cerner les domaines à améliorer.

2. Faits saillants

3. Satisfaction globale à l'égard d'AJO

En 2017, 53 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion positive au sujet d’AJO. En 2017, 25 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion neutre au sujet d’AJO. En 2017, 22 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion négative au sujet d’AJO. En 2016, 56 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion positive au sujet d’AJO. En 2016, 26 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion neutre au sujet d’AJO. En 2016, 19 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion négative au sujet d’AJO. En 2015, 57 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion positive au sujet d’AJO. En 2015, 24 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion neutre au sujet d’AJO. En 2015, 19 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion négative au sujet d’AJO.

« Dans l'ensemble, j'ai été satisfait(e) de ma relation avec AJO »

La satisfaction globale a légèrement décliné par rapport à l'année précédente. Environ 53 % des personnes interrogées ont exprimé une opinion positive au sujet d'AJO. Bien qu'il ne s'agisse pas d'une grosse diminution, AJO œuvre pour déterminer les domaines qui nécessitent des améliorations.

4. Sentiment de fierté du fait d'effectuer du travail d'aide juridique

En 2017, 72 % des avocats se sont déclarés fiers d’effectuer du travail d’aide juridique. En 2017, 18 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion qui n’était ni favorable ni défavorable quant à la question de savoir s’ils étaient fiers d’effectuer du travail d’aide juridique. En 2017, 10 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion défavorable quant à la question de savoir s’ils étaient fiers d’effectuer du travail d’aide juridique.

« Dans l'ensemble, je suis fier(fière) d'effectuer du travail d'aide juridique »

Bien que les avocats aient exprimé différentes opinions sur les divers aspects de leur relation avec AJO, la plupart d'entre eux (72 %) sont fiers d'effectuer du travail d'aide juridique et d'aider les Ontariennes et Ontariens à faible revenu à avoir accès à la justice.

5. Satisfaction à l'égard de services fournis par le personnel d'AJO

En 2017, 68 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion positive au sujet de la qualité des services du personnel d’AJO. En 2017, 19 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion neutre au sujet de la qualité des services du personnel d’AJO. En 2017, 13 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion négative au sujet de la qualité des services du personnel d’AJO. En 2016, 65 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion positive au sujet de la qualité des services du personnel d’AJO. En 2016, 20 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion neutre au sujet de la qualité des services du personnel d’AJO. En 2016, 15 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion négative au sujet de la qualité des services du personnel d’AJO. En 2015, 63 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion positive au sujet de la qualité des services du personnel d’AJO. En 2015, 23 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion neutre au sujet de la qualité des services du personnel d’AJO. En 2015, 14 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion négative au sujet de la qualité des services du personnel d’AJO.

« Dans l'ensemble, j'ai été satisfait(e) de la qualité des services fournis par le personnel »

Le pourcentage des avocats qui ont exprimé être satisfaits des services fournis par le personnel d'AJO a connu une légère augmentation comparé à l'année dernière.

Lorsqu'ils ont répondu à des questions sur des aspects précis des services fournis par le personnel d'AJO, un plus grand pourcentage des avocats a exprimé une opinion favorable à l'égard de la courtoisie et des connaissances du personnel (81 % et 70 % respectivement).

6. Satisfaction à l'égard des services en ligne d'AJO

En 2017, 58 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion positive au sujet de la qualité des services en ligne d’AJO. En 2017, 26 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion neutre au sujet de la qualité des services en ligne d’AJO. En 2017, 16 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion négative au sujet de la qualité des services en ligne d’AJO. En 2016, 58 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion positive au sujet de la qualité des services en ligne d’AJO. En 2016, 27 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion neutre au sujet de la qualité des services en ligne d’AJO. En 2016, 15 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion négative au sujet de la qualité des services en ligne d’AJO. En 2015, 60 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion positive au sujet de la qualité des services en ligne d’AJO. En 2015, 25 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion neutre au sujet de la qualité des services en ligne d’AJO. En 2015, 15 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion négative au sujet de la qualité des services en ligne d’AJO.

« Dans l'ensemble, j'ai été satisfait(e) de la qualité des services en ligne »

Le pourcentage des avocats qui ont exprimé être satisfaits des services en ligne d'AJO est sensiblement semblable à celui des deux dernières années.

Environ 67 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion positive sur l'accessibilité des services en ligne et 55 % ont répondu que les services en ligne étaient conviviaux.

7. Satisfaction à l'égard du processus de facturation

En 2017, 33 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion positive au sujet du processus de facturation et de paiement d’AJO. En 2017, 27 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion neutre au sujet du processus de facturation et de paiement d’AJO. En 2017, 40 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion défavorable au sujet du processus de facturation et de paiement d’AJO. En 2016, 37 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion positive au sujet du processus de facturation et de paiement d’AJO. En 2016, 28 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion neutre au sujet du processus de facturation et de paiement d’AJO. En 2016, 35 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion défavorable au sujet du processus de facturation et de paiement d’AJO. En 2015, 38 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion positive au sujet du processus de facturation et de paiement d’AJO. En 2015, 28 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion neutre au sujet du processus de facturation et de paiement d’AJO. En 2015, 35 % des avocats ont exprimé une opinion défavorable au sujet du processus de facturation et de paiement d’AJO.

“« Dans l'ensemble, j'ai été satisfait(e) des processus de facturation et de paiement d'AJO »

Globalement, les processus de facturation et de paiement continuent de présenter des difficultés pour AJO. C'est dans ce domaine que le pourcentage d'opinions favorables de la part des avocats reste le plus bas.

Environ 41 % des avocats ont exprimé de la satisfaction à l'égard du processus de facturation et de la rapidité des paiements et seulement 31 % considèrent que le système de paiement est « juste ».

8. Travail d'aide juridique à l'avenir

42 % des avocats ont l’intention d’effectuer une plus grande quantité de travail d’aide juridique dans les 12 prochains mois qu’au cours de l’année écoulée. 36 % des avocats ont l’intention d’effectuer la même quantité de travail d’aide juridique dans les 12 prochains mois qu’au cours de l’année écoulée. 22 % des avocats ont l’intention d’effectuer une moindre quantité de travail d’aide juridique dans les 12 prochains mois qu’au cours de l’année écoulée.

« En comparaison au travail que vous avez effectué au cours des 12 derniers mois, quelle quantité de travail pensez-vous effectuer au nom d'AJO dans les 12 prochains mois? »

Près de 78 % des avocats ont répondu qu'ils aimeraient effectuer la même quantité ou une plus grande quantité de travail d'aide juridique qu'au cours des 12 derniers mois.

Legal Aid Ontario (LAO), an independent but publicly funded and publicly accountable non-profit corporation. None of this material may be commercially reproduced, but copying for other purposes, with credit, is encouraged.

© 1998-2016 Legal Aid Ontario, all rights reserved

^