Publications & Resources

LAO Reports


Publications & Reources

Justice - More Than Criminal Courts

Submission to the Panel on Justice and the Media

Posted on: June 7 /2005

To strengthen public trust in the justice system, and encourage broad public access to information about justice, the public must first gain a better understanding of all parts of the justice system. They must also see firsthand evidence of how a fair and accessible justice system contributes to healthy and strong communities.

Until people become involved in the justice system, they often believe that the system doesn't affect them. In fact, only a small percentage of the population may ever have dealings with the justice system. Many members of the public rely on popular television shows like "Law & Order" to learn about the system. Beyond the Hollywood myth, the public receives most information about our justice system through the media.

When the media report on issues to do with the justice system, we get a sense of the types of stories that are most compelling and that strike a chord with audiences:

  • Faceless and nameless youth accused of criminal activities;
  • Illegal immigrants who commit crimes in this country;
  • Sensational murder trials;
  • Abusive or negligent parents.

It's easy to see why the public may be distrustful then, of the justice system. The stories we read and hear about in the media are focussed almost exclusively on the criminal courts. The stories provoke fear and anger - the complete opposite of trust.

So how do we create more trust? Help the public to understand more about all the different parts of the justice system. Tell them about what happens at the Social Benefits Tribunal, the Ontario Rental Housing Tribunal, and the family courts. Tell the public about how poor people are taken advantage of, pushed around and generally treated as second-class citizens. And then tell the story of how they might get help through the justice system.

Certainly stories about aspects of the criminal justice system are compelling. But equally interesting are the human-interest stories, the stories that talk about the gamut of issues people caught up in the justice system face every day.

Tell the story for example, of the 18-year old youth facing drug charges and two years in jail. Through an special alternative measures project funded by Legal Aid Ontario, he received probation, got a job, got drug counseling and eventually got back into school. Today he is an honour-roll student, he's saving money and just got his drivers' license.

Tell the story about the mother with three children, living in public housing who, due to a life-threatening mental illness, has fallen behind in her rent. Facing eviction and the break-up of her family, she is seeking time to repay her back rent.

Tell the story of parents living in public housing whose children are forcefully taken from their home. They have been fighting the Children's Aid Society and its thousands of dollars of resources and dozens of experts for over four years. With Legal Aid's help, they are finally getting a more level playing field and are able to bring the family back together.

Tell the story of the community legal clinic which is working with public housing officials to prevent eviction of tenants with mental health issues and to develop a plan of action to help the tenants.

Beyond telling stories of perceived injustices, tell stories that show all that we have to be proud of in our society - having a justice system that provides people with the help they need to avert injustices.

The media has a role to play in accurately portraying our justice system as it operates in Ontario. Legal Aid Ontario, for example, is an integral part of the justice system, assisting over one million low-income individuals every year. That's more than any single law firm in the country, yet the public believes that legal aid is only for criminals.

Legal Aid in Ontario is in fact so often misunderstood that women's groups and shelters routinely say to us and to their clients "legal aid doesn't cover family cases". Last year, Legal Aid Ontario provided over 27,000 certificates for family law cases. A further 10,000 certificates were issued to assist refugees fleeing persecution, war, imprisonment or even death in their home countries.

Some members of the public would surely be surprised to learn that poor people accused of crime in Ontario are not automatically assigned a public defender. They would be further surprised to learn that the premise of Ontario's legal aid system is that one's financial situation should not be a barrier to receiving high quality legal assistance, and clients are entitled to select a lawyer of their own choosing.

Many of the most successful and experienced lawyers in Ontario take legal aid cases. They don't do it for the money - most accept the work at more than 100 per cent below their normal market rates. They do it because it is the highest level of public service to be able to help those who cannot help themselves. Many of these cases are landmark cases that go on to affect other people for years to come.

While lawyers do not rank high on the list of professions which people admire, there are dozens of positive stories about lawyers who work many hours above and beyond what they are paid by Legal Aid Ontario. Do people realize that a large proportion of the lawyers doing legal aid work have more than 10 years of experience? Even the duty counsel lawyers who help people in the courts are often hired with five or more years of experience.

Until now, Legal Aid Ontario has been a silent partner in the justice system. While delegations of officials from around the world visit Ontario to learn about legal aid and the broad range of services available here, most of our own citizens know little about what legal aid does or why it's important. Legal Aid Ontario believes it is time to speak up and ensure that citizens understand the important role that legal aid plays in society.

As Louise Arbour stated, "Equality requires, among other things, that the most disadvantaged be empowered to participate meaningfully both in political and legal processes, unshackling them from the benevolence and whim of the powerful and enabling them to control their own destinies." 1

There are of course, confidentiality and privacy issues around telling clients' stories. Many reporters are surprised to learn that Legal Aid Ontario is prevented by law from identifying applicants for legal aid, as well as current or past legal aid clients. It is also prohibited from revealing any information about a client's lawyer, or information about lawyers' fees.

With a client's and/or a lawyer's permission however, Legal Aid Ontario would be happy to assist the media with tracking down and telling compelling human-interest stories. Legal Aid Ontario has a network of 51 legal aid offices and 79 community legal clinics across the province. Of the more than 4,000 private lawyers and staff lawyers who do legal aid work we have access to lawyers both famous and not-so-famous, as well as those who specialize in family disputes and violence, refugees, the environment, Aboriginal people, elderly people and injured workers.

By working together, partners in the justice system and the media can develop a lasting relationship. There is an interest for both parties to maintain and build on these relationships - media get access to expert resources and contacts to help them tell stories that their audience cares about; and the justice system gets a chance to tell a more complete and accurate story of how it contributes to a healthy society. By telling a variety of stories, instead of just the stories that provoke fear and anger, we can both help the public to gain a better understanding of the justice system and how it works.

For more information, contact:

Janet Leiper
Chair, Legal Aid Ontario
Telephone: 416-204-4755

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Footnote - 1: LaFontaine-Baldwin Lecture. 2005


For more info...

To learn more about the Panel on Justice and the Media please follow this link

Publications et documents d'information

Rapports

Publications et documents d'information

La justice - bien plus que les tribunaux de droit criminel

Allocution devant le Comité de la justice et des médias

Le 7 juin 2005

Afin que la population ait davantage confiance dans le système judiciaire et dispose d'un accès élargi à l'information touchant la justice, elle doit d'abord mieux saisir toutes les facettes de la justice et constater directement de quelle façon un système de justice accessible et équitable contribue à une société saine et harmonieuse.

Tant qu'ils n'ont pas eu de contact avec le système judiciaire, les gens croient souvent que celui-ci n'a pas d'influence sur leur vie. En fait, seul un faible pourcentage de la population aura des rapports avec la justice, et beaucoup apprennent ce qu'est la justice en regardant des séries télévisées comme Law & Order. Cependant, au-delà du mythe hollywoodien, les gens reçoivent de l'information sur le système judiciaire surtout par l'entremise des médias.

Lorsque les médias rapportent des affaires judiciaires, il s'agit d'histoires captivantes qui touchent une corde sensible dans la population :

  • jeunes inconnus accusés d'activités criminelles;
  • personnes ayant immigré au Canada et y commettant des crimes;
  • procès pour meurtres retentissants;
  • parents violents ou négligents.

Ainsi, il est facile de comprendre pourquoi les gens font peu confiance à la justice. En effet, les médias ne traitent pratiquement que de cas qui passent devant les tribunaux de droit criminel. Ces histoires suscitent la peur et la colère - tout le contraire de la confiance.

Alors, comment accroître la confiance du public? Nous devons l'informer davantage sur les diverses dimensions du système judiciaire. Lui dire, par exemple, ce qui se passe aux tribunaux de l'aide sociale, du logement ou de la famille, lui expliquer comment les personnes défavorisées sont trompées, bousculées et généralement traitées comme des citoyens de deuxième ordre, puis lui indiquer comment elles pourraient obtenir l'aide du système judiciaire.

Certes, les affaires criminelles sont passionnantes, mais celles qui mettent en scène un autre aspect humain le sont tout autant : elles illustrent l'ensemble des difficultés vécues quotidiennement par des personnes aux prises avec la justice.

Prenez l'exemple de ce jeune de 18 ans accusé dans une affaire de drogue et risquant deux ans d'emprisonnement. Grâce à un programme spécial subventionné par Aide juridique Ontario, il a pu bénéficier d'une probation, trouver un emploi, obtenir un soutien en matière de drogues et retourner aux études. Aujourd'hui, c'est un étudiant inscrit au tableau d'honneur, qui met de l'argent de côté et qui obtiendra bientôt son permis de conduire.

Considérez l'histoire de cette mère vivant dans un logement social avec ses trois enfants. À cause d'une maladie mentale constituant un danger de mort, elle a pris du retard dans le paiement du loyer. Menacée d'éviction et risquant de voir sa famille séparée, elle demande un délai pour payer le loyer qu'elle doit.

Ou encore, racontez l'histoire de ces parents qui demeurent en logement social et à qui on a enlevé de force leurs enfants. Depuis plus de quatre ans, ils se battent contre la Société d'aide à l'enfance, ses douzaines d'experts et ses milliers de dollars de ressources. Avec l'appui d'Aide juridique Ontario, ils ont finalement pu lutter à armes égales et sont maintenant en mesure de reformer leur famille.

Et puis, il y a cette clinique juridique communautaire qui, de concert avec des représentants du logement social, travaille à empêcher que des locataires souffrant de troubles mentaux soient évincés et à mettre en place un plan d'action pour leur venir en aide.

En plus de rapporter ces cas d'injustice manifeste, racontez des histoires qui montrent tout ce dont nous pouvons être fiers dans notre société : un système judiciaire qui donne aux gens les outils nécessaires pour prévenir les injustices.

Les médias ont un rôle à jouer pour donner une image juste de notre système de justice et de son fonctionnement. Par exemple, Aide juridique Ontario fait intégralement partie du système judiciaire. Chaque année, nous venons en aide à plus d'un million de personnes à faible revenu, soit plus que n'importe quel cabinet d'avocats au pays. Pourtant, les gens croient que l'aide juridique n'est destinée qu'aux criminels.

En fait, l'aide juridique accessible en Ontario est si peu comprise que les groupes de femmes et les centres d'hébergement pour femmes déclarent habituellement à leurs clientes et à nous-mêmes que « l'aide juridique ne couvre pas les causes relevant du droit de la famille ». Pourtant, en 2004, nous avons délivré plus de 27 000 certificats d'aide juridique à l'égard de cas touchant le droit de la famille. En outre, 10 000 certificats supplémentaires ont été délivrés pour venir en aide à des réfugiés fuyant la persécution, la guerre ou cherchant à éviter l'emprisonnement ou la mort dans leur pays d'origine.

Certains seraient très étonnés d'apprendre que les personnes défavorisées accusées d'un crime en Ontario ne se voient pas automatiquement assigner un défenseur des droits du citoyen. Ils seraient encore plus surpris si on leur disait qu'en Ontario, la règle de base de l'aide juridique stipule qu'une personne ne doit pas être privée du soutien d'un avocat compétent en raison de sa situation financière et qu'elle a le droit de choisir son propre avocat.

En Ontario, beaucoup d'avocats émérites acceptent des mandats d'aide juridique. Ils ne le font pas pour l'argent; la plupart acceptent de travailler à un tarif bien inférieur à celui qu'ils facturent habituellement. Ils le font parce que le fait de venir en aide à des gens dans l'impossibilité de se défendre eux-mêmes représente le summum en termes de service public. Beaucoup de ces mandats sont liés à des causes qui font jurisprudence et qui ont une incidence sur la vie d'autres personnes pendant des années.

Bien que les avocats ne figurent pas très haut sur la liste des professionnels les plus admirés du public, nous pouvons entendre des dizaines de récits édifiants au sujet de membres de la profession qui consacrent à leurs causes bien plus d'heures que ce que leur paie Aide juridique Ontario. Par ailleurs, la population sait-elle qu'une proportion importante des avocats qui acceptent des mandats d'aide juridique compte plus de 10 ans d'expérience? Même les avocats de service engagés pour fournir un soutien aux gens dans les tribunaux pratiquent souvent depuis cinq ans ou plus.

Jusqu'à maintenant, Aide juridique Ontario est restée un partenaire silencieux de la justice. Pendant que des délégations de partout dans le monde viennent en Ontario s'informer au sujet de l'aide juridique et de la vaste gamme de services offerts, la plupart des Ontariens et des Ontariennes savent peu de choses de l'aide juridique, de ce qu'elle permet d'accomplir et des raisons de son importance. Nous croyons que le temps est venu de prendre la parole et de nous assurer que les citoyens comprennent le rôle essentiel de l'aide juridique dans notre société.

Selon Mme Louise Arbour, « l'égalité exige, entre autres, que les plus désavantagés aient le pouvoir de participer véritablement à la fois dans le processus politique et dans le processus judiciaire; cela vise à les affranchir de leur dépendance envers le bon vouloir ou le caprice des plus puissants, leur permettant ainsi de contrôler leur propre destin 1».

Évidemment, raconter l'histoire de clients pose des problèmes de confidentialité. Beaucoup de journalistes s'étonnent en apprenant que la loi nous interdit de révéler le nom des personnes qui présentent une demande d'aide juridique, ainsi que celui de nos clients actuels ou passés. Il nous est également interdit de fournir des renseignements à l'égard des avocats affectés aux dossiers ou de leurs tarifs.

Cependant, si un client ou un avocat nous y autorise, nous serions heureux d'aider les médias à trouver et à raconter des histoires émouvantes par leur côté humain. Le réseau d'Aide juridique Ontario comprend 51 bureaux et 79 cliniques juridiques communautaires répartis dans l'ensemble de la province. Parmi les quelque 4 000 avocats de service ou du secteur privé qui travaillent avec nous, nous avons accès à des professionnels très connus et à d'autres qui le sont moins, ainsi qu'à des spécialistes de domaines tels les conflits familiaux, les réfugiés, l'environnement, les Autochtones, les personnes âgées ou les accidents du travail.

En collaborant, les médias et la justice peuvent nouer des liens durables. Les deux parties ont tout intérêt à maintenir et à cultiver cette relation : les médias y gagnent un accès à des personnes et à des ressources spécialisées qui peuvent les aider à raconter des histoires intéressantes pour leur public. Quant au système judiciaire, il obtient l'occasion d'illustrer de manière plus complète et précise son rôle dans le maintien d'une société saine. En racontant des histoires variées plutôt qu'uniquement des récits qui provoquent la peur et la colère, les médias et la justice peuvent amener la population à mieux comprendre le système judiciaire et son fonctionnement.

Pour plus de renseignements, communiquez avec :

Janet Leiper
Aide juridique Ontario

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
1 Discours Lafontaine-Baldwin 2005


Liens :

Cliquez sur ce lien pour en apprendre davantage sur le Comité de la justice et des médias.