Legal Aid Ontario's senior counsel program 2015/16 annual report

1. Introduction

1.1 Background

LAOs senior counsel serve the most vulnerable, hard-to-serve clients in the criminal justice systempeople who would otherwise be unrepresented and either unable to retain counsel from the private bar, or ineligible for certificate services but eligible for duty counsel services. These clients include:

In the absence of senior counsel services, clients whose matters are complex and hard to serve as described above would face significant barriers to access to justice, such as procedural delays, more time incarcerated unnecessarily, and proceeding with Amicus (a lawyer appointed by the court for its assistance) or by way of self-representation.

Clients who receive the services of senior counsel have been previously advised of all options for representation, including a retainer with a member of the private bar. They voluntarily choose to be represented by senior counsel.

1.2 Staff

LAO engaged a total of 17 criminal trial counsel to work across the province, including:

Beyond their practices as trial counsel, senior counsel are mentors, advisors, leaders and educators. They are a source of criminal law expertise for duty counsel in each of the districts. They also act as a resource to less experienced private bar lawyers through informal and formal mentoring. In addition, senior counsel act as co-counsel to senior and junior members of the bar.

The senior counsel program lead is responsible for oversight and management of the program and the application of criminal law by the program and its lawyers.

The senior legal advisor provides case-specific legal, procedural and tactical advice, guidance, mentorship, and direction to senior counsel and LAOs other criminal staff lawyers, where appropriate. This advice has generally been on highly complex matters, such as included admissibility of expert evidence on murder, jury closing on murder, a strategy for raising the defence of not criminally responsible for the first time on an appeal, and severance of counts and co-accused.

The senior counsel program lead and senior legal advisor monitor and respond to emerging criminal practice issues, develop and conduct training programs, consult on ethical issues and provide criminal law expertise and advice to the program and LAO.

2. Highlights of 2015/16

2.1 Mentoring and educational successes

2.1.1 Private bar partnerships and mentorship

Senior counsel meet the programs central objective of representing Ontarios hardest-to-serve clients—they mentor junior staff lawyers who express an interest in conducting broader litigation work by assisting in trial preparation or partnering with them so they can take matters to trial.

Partnerships between senior counsel and the private bar were also successful in 2015/16 and remain an area of projected growth in 2016/17. The program arranged at least 20 partnership opportunities between LAOs senior counsel and the private bar across the province. Staff counsel acted as co-counsel or lead counsel for murder cases and dangerous offender matters and appeals. In some cases, senior counsel provided mentorship to support less experienced members of the bar.

2.1.2 Advanced criminal advocacy training

In Fall 2015, the senior counsel program lead, senior legal advisor and LAOs human resources department developed and delivered a six-day advanced trial training program. Participants included 25 junior lawyers (primarily duty counsel) from across the province and one private bar lawyer. Several senior counsel acted as mentors and evaluators alongside Crown attorneys and members of the private bar. Part of the training included a mock trial before judges of the Ontario and Superior Courts. Feedback from the judges on the performance of the participants was very positive.

Participants expressed appreciation for this thorough training from senior mentors as well as for the opportunity to try a case before a judge. They also indicated that the training increased their effectiveness in serving highly vulnerable clients.

This training will be repeated in 2016/17.

2.1.3 Education day on criminal law practice essentials

On May 27, 2015, senior and other LAO counsel, private bar lawyers, judges and Crown counsel provided approximately 100 LAO staff lawyers, as well as students and several per diem duty counsel, with a range of presentations. These included talks on professional responsibility, search and seizure, administration of justice charges, effective submissions, guilty pleas, pretrial and disclosure review.

Senior counsel also participated in many other educational sessions for LAOs staff lawyers including on mental health, bail and bail reviews.

2.1.4 Innocence Canada conference

The senior legal advisor gave a well-received presentation on an advocates role in preventing wrongful convictions, as part of the Innocence Canada (formerly the Association in Defence of the Wrongly Convicted) December 2015 Getting too Zealous: Trial Preparation conference for the private bar.

2.2 Client service successes

This is a high-level summary of the most rewarding, complex, or legally significant cases senior counsel handled in 2015/16:

3. Support for senior counsel

3.1 Administrative support

Throughout 2015/16, the following initiatives have provided timely, effective support to help senior counsel in their criminal law practices, expand the programs capacity for peer development, and improve communications within the program.

3.1.1 Email connection

Senior counsel has access to a shared email distribution list to help the programs lawyers discuss issues among themselves, circulate materials, receive updates from the senior counsel program lead/senior legal advisor, and request support where appropriate.

3.1.2 Retainer agreements and plea comprehension inquiry

LAO has developed and senior counsel uses:

3.2 Educational development

3.2.1 National Criminal Law Program (NCLP)

Seven of LAOs senior counsel attended the NCLP, held in Edmonton in 2015 and in Charlottetown in 2016. Presenters included highly respected and knowledgeable members of the criminal bar, Crown Attorneys, and members of the judiciary throughout Canada.

Senior counsel attendees appreciated the programs comprehensiveness in all areas of criminal law, from new offences, evidence, and sentencing, to trends in policy and best practices. They also said that the conferences high-quality materials were a significant and valuable resource for their own practices and their mentorship activities.

3.2.2 Ongoing learning and training

LAO hosts two day-long, in-house community of practice sessions for all senior counsel program lawyers to discuss issues that affect their law practices, receive updates on case law and program development, and solidify a cohesive, team-based approach to client services.

A monthly teleconference provides the opportunity for senior counsel to discuss current issues and best practices together.

4. Activity trends

4.1 Work load

Senior counsel represent clients at all levels of Ontarios courts. At any given time, they are assisting approximately 450 clients. Each senior counsels baseline caseload is 25-35 open files per lawyer, but varies depending on file complexity.

LAO considers workload to consist of any matter where a staff lawyer or co-counsel lead or carry a file. On average, Ontario Court of Justice files account for approximately 93 per cent of senior counsels monthly workload, and Superior Court of Justice files account for approximately seven per cent.

In addition, senior counsel may have files before the appeal courts.

4.2 Referrals and intake

Senior counsel receive the majority of referrals for their services from duty counsel; community agencies, the courts and members of the private bar also provide some referrals. In general, referrals to senior counsel are vulnerable clients who:

The relationship with senior counsel is voluntary, and choice of counsel is respected. Clients are made aware of other options available to them.

Between March 2015 and January 2016, senior counsel (15 lawyers) received a total of 782 client referrals. This represents approximately six referrals every month.

4.3 Hours mentoring

Between March 2015 and January 2016, senior counsel engaged in 3,785 hours of mentorship—the equivalent of 522 working days of mentorship, where one working day equals 7.25 hours.

5. Conclusions

In 2015/16, the Senior Counsel Program provided high-quality defence services to highly vulnerable, hard-to-serve criminal defendants who required full defence services but would not or could not otherwise obtain representation. These clients frequently experienced mental health issues and/ or other significant vulnerabilities.

The program extended the services LAO could provide low-income clients through its duty counsel and certificate system, filled an important gap in the criminal justice system, and ensured access to justice to a highly marginalized clientele.

Legal Aid Ontario (LAO), an independent but publicly funded and publicly accountable non-profit corporation. None of this material may be commercially reproduced, but copying for other purposes, with credit, is encouraged.

© 1998-2016 Legal Aid Ontario, all rights reserved

Programme des avocats principaux d'Aide juridique Ontario Rapport annuel 2015‑2016

1. Introduction

1.1 Historique

Les avocats principaux d'AJO servent les clients les plus vulnérables du système de justice criminelle, ceux dont la situation est particulièrement difficile. Ils aident des personnes qui, autrement, ne seraient pas représentées, seraient dans l'incapacité de retenir les services d'un avocat du secteur privé, ou encore des personnes qui ne seraient pas admissibles aux services de certificat, mais qui pourraient bénéficier de ceux des avocats de service, notamment :

Sans les services des avocats principaux, les clients dont les affaires sont complexes et dont la situation est particulièrement difficile comme il a été mentionné ci-dessus feraient face à des obstacles importants au regard de l'accès à la justice, tels que des retards de procédure ou des prolongations de détention inutiles, et se verraient obligés soit de se représenter eux-mêmes soit de se faire représenter par un amicus curiae (un avocat nommé par le tribunal pour apporter son aide).

Les clients qui reçoivent les services d'un avocat principal ont été préalablement informés de toutes les options de représentation, y compris la possibilité d'être représenté par un avocat du secteur privé. Ils peuvent eux-mêmes choisir d'être représentés par un avocat principal.

1.2 Le personnel

AJO a recruté, au total, 17 avocats en droit criminel pour travailler dans l'ensemble de la province, à savoir :

En plus d'agir en tant qu'avocats au procès, les avocats principaux sont des mentors, des conseillers, des chefs de file et des éducateurs. Ils sont une source d'expertise en droit criminel pour les avocats de service dans chaque district. Ils agissent également comme ressource pour les avocats du secteur privé moins expérimentés grâce à un mentorat formel et informel. En outre, les avocats principaux agissent à titre d'avocats en second tant pour les avocats nouvellement admis au Barreau que pour les avocats chevronnés.

Le directeur du programme des avocats principaux est responsable de la supervision et de la gestion du programme et de l'application, dans le cadre du programme, du droit criminel par ses avocats.

Le conseiller juridique principal fournit des conseils juridiques, procéduraux et tactiques propres à l'affaire aux avocats principaux et aux autres avocats en droit criminel d'AJO; il leur offre également, au besoin, des services d'orientation et de mentorat. Les conseils concernent généralement des affaires extrêmement complexes, comme l'admissibilité des témoignages d'expert dans les affaires de meurtre, l'exposé de la loi fait par le juge au jury dans les cas d'homicide, la stratégie associée à la « défense de non-responsabilité criminelle » pour la première fois en appel, et la séparation des chefs d'accusation ou la tenue de procès distincts pour les co accusés.

Le directeur du programme des avocats principaux et le conseiller juridique principal se penchent sur les nouvelles questions associées à la pratique du droit criminel et proposent des solutions, élaborent et gèrent des programmes de formation, mènent des consultations sur des questions éthiques et fournissent une expertise en droit criminel et des conseils à AJO relativement au programme.

2. Faits saillants de 2015‑2016

2.1 Mentorat et succès liés à la formation

2.1.1 Partenariat avec les avocats du secteur privé et mentorat

Les avocats principaux respectent l'objectif premier du programme qui vise à représenter les clients dont la situation est particulièrement difficile en Ontario. Ils agissent à titre de mentors auprès des jeunes avocats salariés qui souhaitent travailler davantage dans le domaine des litiges, en les aidant à la préparation au procès ou en collaborant pour qu'ils puissent amener les affaires au procès.

Les partenariats entre les avocats principaux et les avocats du secteur privé ont donné des résultats satisfaisants en 2015‑2016 et demeureront un secteur à forte croissance en 2016‑2017. Le programme a permis d'offrir au moins 20 occasions de partenariat entre les avocats principaux d'AJO et les avocats du secteur privé des quatre coins de la province. Les avocats salariés ont agi à titre d'avocats en second ou d'avocats principaux dans des affaires de meurtre, des affaires visant des délinquants dangereux et des appels. Dans certains cas, l'avocat principal a fourni un mentorat pour appuyer les avocats du secteur privé moins expérimentés.

2.1.2 Formation avancée en plaidoirie en matière criminelle

À l'automne 2015, le directeur du programme des avocats principaux, le conseiller juridique principal et le service des ressources humaines d'AJO ont élaboré et fourni une formation avancée en plaidoirie d'une durée de six jours. Parmi les participants, on comptait 25 jeunes avocats (principalement des avocats de service) d'un peu partout en Ontario et un avocat du secteur privé. Plusieurs avocats principaux ont agi à titre de mentors et d'évaluateurs aux côtés d'avocats de la Couronne et du secteur privé. Une partie de la formation consistait en un procès fictif devant les juges de la Cour de justice de l'Ontario et de la Cour supérieure de justice. La rétroaction des juges quant au rendement des participants a été très positive.

Les participants ont fait part de leur reconnaissance pour cette formation complète offerte par des mentors chevronnés ainsi que pour l'occasion qui leur a été donnée de plaider devant un juge. Ils ont également indiqué que la formation a amélioré leur efficacité lorsqu'il s'agit d'offrir des services à des clients très vulnérables.

Cette formation sera de nouveau proposée en 2016‑2017.

2.1.3 Journée pédagogique sur les bases de la pratique du droit criminel

Le 27 mai 2015, des avocats principaux et d'autres avocats d'AJO, des avocats du secteur privé, des juges et des procureurs de la Couronne ont présenté un ensemble d'exposés à environ 100 avocats du secteur privé d'AJO ainsi qu'à des étudiants et à plusieurs avocats rémunérés à la journée. Ces présentations comprenaient des discussions sur les responsabilités professionnelles, les fouilles, les perquisitions et les saisies, les accusations liées à l'administration de la justice, les observations efficaces, les plaidoyers de culpabilité, les enquêtes préliminaires et l'examen des questions de divulgation.

Les avocats principaux ont également participé à de nombreuses séances de formation pour les avocats salariés d'AJO notamment sur la santé mentale, sur le cautionnement et sur la révision de l'ordonnance de détention.

2.1.4 Innocence Canada conference

Le conseiller juridique principal a fait une présentation sur le rôle de la plaidoirie en tant que moyen d'empêcher les condamnations injustifiées dans le cadre de la conférence à l'intention des avocats du secteur privé de décembre 2015, intitulée « Getting too Zealous: Trial Preparation » et organisée par Innocence Canada (anciennement Association in Defence of the Wrongly Convicted). Cette présentation a été bien reçue.

2.2 Succès relatifs aux services aux clients

Le bref résumé qui suit présente les affaires gérées par les avocats principaux en 2015‑2016 qui sont les plus complexes, celles dont les enjeux ont été des plus importants sur le plan juridique ou celles dont les résultats ont été des plus satisfaisants :

3. Soutien aux avocats principaux

3.1 Soutien administratif

Tout au long de 2015‑2016, les initiatives ci-après énumérées ont fourni, en temps opportun, un soutien efficace pour aider les avocats principaux dans leur pratique du droit criminel, augmenter les possibilités de perfectionnement des pairs et améliorer les communications dans le cadre du programme.

3.1.1 Connexion courriel

Les avocats principaux ont accès à une liste de distribution par courriels qu'ils se partagent et dont l'objet est d'aider les avocats du programme à discuter entre eux, à faire circuler des documents, à recevoir les mises à jour du directeur du programme des avocats principaux et du conseiller juridique principal, et à demander du soutien, au besoin.

3.1.2 Mandats et enquête judiciaire portant sur la compréhension par l'accusé de la signification du plaidoyer de culpabilité

AJO a élaboré les outils suivants, utilisés par les avocats principaux :

3.2 Développement professionnel

3.2.1 Colloque national sur le droit criminel (CNDC)

Sept avocats principaux d'AJO ont assisté au CNDC, qui a eu lieu à Edmonton en 2015 et à Charlottetown en 2016. Parmi les conférenciers, on pouvait compter des avocats très respectés et très compétents du secteur privé en droit criminel, des procureurs de la Couronne et des membres de la magistrature du Canada.

Les avocats principaux présents ont apprécié l'exhaustivité du programme dans tous les domaines du droit criminel, des nouvelles infractions aux preuves, en passant par les peines, les tendances en matière de politique et les pratiques exemplaires. Ils ont également mentionné que les documents de haute qualité du colloque constituaient une ressource importante et précieuse pour leurs propres pratiques et leurs activités de mentorat.

3.2.2 Apprentissage et formation continue

AJO accueille des séances de deux jours réservées à la communauté de praticiens pour tous les avocats du programme d'avocats principaux, afin de discuter des questions qui ont une incidence sur leur exercice du droit, d'obtenir des mises à jour sur la jurisprudence et les nouveaux programmes, et de consolider une approche cohérente, axée sur le travail d'équipe, en ce qui concerne la prestation de services aux clients.

Une téléconférence mensuelle offre aux avocats principaux la possibilité de discuter des enjeux actuels et des pratiques exemplaires.

4. Évolution de l'activité

4.1 Charge de travail

Les avocats principaux représentent des clients à tous les échelons des tribunaux ontariens. Ils aident en permanence environ 450 clients. Chaque avocat principal a de 25 à 35 fichiers ouverts, quoique cette charge de travail varie en fonction de la complexité des dossiers.

AJO considère comme faisant partie de la charge de travail toute affaire qu'un avocat salarié ou un avocat en second gère ou tout dossier sur lequel il travaille. En moyenne, les dossiers portés devant la Cour de justice de l'Ontario représentent environ 93 pour cent de la charge de travail mensuelle de l'avocat principal, et les dossiers devant la Cour supérieure de justice comptent pour environ sept pour cent.

En outre, l'avocat principal peut gérer des dossiers devant les tribunaux d'appel.

4.2 Renvois et accueil

Les avocats de service effectuent la majorité des renvois vers les avocats principaux. Certains renvois proviennent également des organismes communautaires, des tribunaux et des avocats du secteur privé. En général, les clients vulnérables qui sont renvoyés vers les services des avocats principaux rencontrent les situations suivantes :

Le fait de se faire représenter par un avocat principal est une démarche volontaire et le droit au choix de l'avocat est respecté. Les clients sont informés des autres choix qui sont à leur disposition.

Entre mars 2015 et janvier 2016, 782 clients en tout ont été adressés vers les avocats principaux (15 avocats). Cela représente environ six renvois par mois.

4.3 Heures de mentorats

De mars 2015 à janvier 2016, les avocats principaux ont effectué 3 785 heures de mentorat, l'équivalent de 522 jours de travail de mentorat où une journée de travail équivaut à 7,25 heures.

5. Conclusion

En 2015‑2016, le programme des avocats principaux a fourni, dans le cadre de procès criminels, des services de défense de haute qualité à des défendeurs très vulnérables, dont la situation est particulièrement difficile et qui avaient besoin de services de représentation complets qu'ils n'auraient pas pu obtenir autrement. Ces clients ont souvent des troubles de santé mentale et d'autres vulnérabilités importantes.

Le programme a élargi les services qu'AJO pouvait fournir aux clients à faible revenu grâce à son système d'avocats de service et de certificats; il a comblé une lacune importante dans le système de justice criminelle et a assuré l'accès à la justice à une clientèle très marginalisée.

Aide juridique Ontario (AJO) est une société autonome sans but lucratif financée par l’État et imputable devant celui-ci. Rien dans ces documents ne peut être reproduit à des fins commerciales mais copier à d'autres fins est encouragé, à condition de faire mention de la source.

© 1998-2016 Aide juridique Ontario, tous droits réservés