LAO Update: Fall 2018 Edition

The first quarter report, covering July to September 2018, provides an update on Legal Aid Ontario's latest initiatives

Message from the CEO

Q2 proved to be another busy quarter! LAO was invited by the Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights to make submissions on Bill C‑75 which proposes amending several acts including the Criminal Code; the Auditor General of Ontario delivered a draft value for money audit report for LAO's review of the recommendations, with the report to be finalized and published in December; work continued on the development of LAO's five‑year strategic plan; and in October, just a few weeks after the end of Q2, the restructuring of LAO was announced to staff.

The new structure, which will be effective January 2019, defines accountabilities more clearly with fewer overlapping responsibilities, allowing more effective decision making, more consistency and an ability to better measure performance. This translates into more effective service for our clients.

The new executive accountabilities will be:

Vicki Moretti, VP, GTA, announced her retirement after serving 27 years with LAO. Although she will be missed by her friends and colleagues, we look forward to hearing about her new adventures in retirement.

I hope you find LAO's quarterly updates useful. If you have any suggestions for how we can improve these reports, or questions about the information provided, please send them to gencom@lao.on.ca.

Sincerely,
David Field
President & CEO
Legal Aid Ontario

Spotlight: Vulnerable client strategies update

Aboriginal Justice Strategy review

The Aboriginal Justice Strategy (AJS), the first of LAO's vulnerable client strategies was launched 10 years ago. While systemic and justice issues remain at a crisis level for First Nation, Métis and Inuit in Ontario, our society has entered a new phase guided by the principles of truth, relationship, respect, and reconciliation. Over the next few months, LAO will be meeting with members of Indigenous communities and other stakeholders to discuss how to enhance and expand the AJS and find ways to make relevant changes to the way LAO delivers services to these communities.

Visit the Aboriginal Justice Strategy page to learn more about our ongoing efforts.

Racialized Communities Strategy consultations

Between January and April 2018, LAO met with clients, activists, LAO staff, and representatives of community legal clinics, lawyers' associations, community health centres, faith‑based groups, professional associations, and social services agencies to talk about issues faced by racialized communities when trying to access legal services. More than 400 people shared their input in‑person, and nine stakeholder organizations and community-based groups provided written submissions.

Input from stakeholders has been vital to the development of LAO's Racialized Communities Strategy (RCS) which outlines ways to address the problems faced by racialized communities in the justice system. This fall, the RCS will be seeking board approval for further consultations and discussions about the proposed strategy ahead of its anticipated release in 2019.

Visit the Racialized Communities Strategy page to read the summary of what we learned during the consultation process.

Prison Law Strategy development

Consultations to support the development of the Prison Law Strategy (PLS) which commenced in fall 2017 concluded this summer. A number of prison law experts and stakeholders were consulted, including academics, researchers, staff of community legal clinics and agencies serving inmates, justice system partners (the provincial Human Services and Justice Coordinating Committee), and legal aid staff. The Prison Law Strategy team will present a comprehensive strategy to LAO's Board of Directors that serves as a blueprint for how LAO can better address the problems of incarcerated persons in Ontario. With board approval, the team hopes to begin implementation of the strategy in 2019.

Merit consideration guide for Consent and Capacity Board appeals

As part of our Mental Health Strategy work, LAO has developed a guide to support area committees and panel lawyers in their assessment of merit for Consent and Capacity Board (CCB) appeals. Prepared in consultation with the Law and Mental Disorder Association, the Mental Health Legal Committee, and LAO LAW, the guide provides an overview of the common types of CCB applications, legal grounds for appeal, appeal timelines, and the new two‑stage modified merit test.

The CCB Appeal Merit Consideration Guide can be found on the LAO LAW website (requires login) in both English and French (under Mental Health Law → Secondary Materials).

Visit the Mental Health Strategy page to learn more about this strategy.

Announcements and highlights

Advocating for Ontarians: opposing arguments to Bill C‑75

In September, LAO presented concerns about Bill C‑75 before the Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights. Bill C‑75 aims to modify the Criminal Code, the Youth Criminal Justice Act, and several other laws that impact our clients' rights and access to justice. LAO raised concerns about four of the proposed amendments:

  1. Restricting preliminary inquiries only to the most serious charges

    There is no evidence that preliminary inquiries (when a judge screens the proposed criminal charge against available evidence) creates delays. Instead, evidence, including LAO data, suggests that they can reduce delays by screening out or resolving charges without the necessity of a trial. LAO's position is shared by, and supports that of the Criminal Lawyers' Association.

  2. Preventing non‑lawyers from acting in summary conviction matters

    Removing non-lawyers, including students and paralegals, from this work will further slow our already clogged courts. As low‑income accused persons are left to fend for themselves in criminal courts, the gap in access to justice will further widen for these members of already disadvantaged communities. Similar submissions were made by student legal aid services societies.

  3. Giving police the power to impose additional conditions when releasing people after arrest.

    Although LAO supports giving police the authority to release after arrest, instead of keeping an accused person in custody until their bail hearing, the new powers that would be granted by Bill C‑75 exceed what police need to meet their legitimate objectives. These additional powers would permit police to impose overly restrictive terms of release, setting accused people up for failure and undermining the government's other efforts to reform the bail process.

  4. Allowing police to provide affidavit evidence, instead of testimony, in routine matters.

    LAO supports the submissions made by LAO senior counsel, Stephanie Heyens, who was invited to appear before the Standing Committee to address this proposed amendment. In her submissions, Ms. Heyens outlined how this amendment would erode the fundamental right of accused persons to challenge prosecutorial evidence by way of cross‑examination of police, and argued that this change would unfairly shift the burden of proof from the state to the accused. She also noted that any court time this amendment could save would be offset by pre‑trial litigation by defense counsel seeking to protect the rights of their clients.

    After coming under heavy criticism, this provision has been removed from the government's 300‑page bill intended to reduce court delays.

Bill C‑75 will soon enter its third reading in the House of Commons, after which it will progress to the Senate for debate and possible further amendments.

New application process for in‑custody legal aid certificates

LAO staff who are authorized to issue legal aid certificates are now in place at most criminal courts in Ontario; making it possible for lawyers to make and get same‑day decisions on certificate applications for clients who are in custody. To apply, an accused person must be represented by an empanelled private bar lawyer and both must be in court and ready to move ahead with a meaningful appearance, like a bail hearing or resolution. Clients can still apply for legal aid while on remand, if they prefer.

Visit our FAQ page for more information.

Pilot project: guaranteed bail review authorization

LAO is piloting guaranteed authorization of bail review applications by the private bar where counsel believe there is a likelihood of success, or it is in the public interest to proceed. Counsel will now be able to immediately start work on bail review applications. The process which is being piloted, for an initial term of three months, streamlines access to bail reviews and dramatically reduces the wait time between a bail determination and bail review.

Updated process for restraining order certificates

Clients no longer need to have an existing contested issue, such as child custody, access, protection, child and/or spousal support, or property, in order to receive a legal aid certificate for a restraining order. LAO will now issue six-hour stand-alone restraining order certificates in appropriate cases.

Improving billing and administrative processes

To address issues that we learned about through LAO's annual lawyer satisfaction survey, LAO is leading an initiative to identify, resolve (where feasible), and report on issues related to account administration and billing. Updates about this initiative will be provided in future reports.

Select media mentions

Programs aimed at helping black students facing disciplinary issues can wipe slates clean

Globe and Mail / June 24, 2018
A profile of black students facing expulsion and the work of The PLUG, a program funded through LAO.

'A cage without walls': Once in South Korea, North Koreans have little chance of getting asylum elsewhere

CBC / September 9, 2018
Joo Eun Kim of LAO's Refugee Law Office was interviewed for this article about North Korean asylum seekers who technically have no refugee status in Canada.

Client services

Intake, triage and support services

LAO offers intake, triage and support services to people applying for legal aid, existing legal aid clients and lawyers who provide legal services on behalf of Legal Aid Ontario.

Line chart: data available in the table below
Persons assisted for intake, triage and support 2016/17 2017/18 2018/19
Q3 Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q1 Q2
Phone: Tier 1 68,89178,08975,58869,81363,18776,56670,15673,498
Phone: Tier 2 26,10830,16726,58726,33624,23523,15226,61429,117
Phone: In-custody clients 7,4198,9928,7738,9197,6937,4378,1949,066
Phone: Lawyer Service Centre 10,30611,92811,13211,40311,94212,06111,57111,106

Duty counsel services

Duty counsel are LAO staff and per diem lawyers in courthouses. They can give immediate legal assistance to low‑income people who would otherwise be unrepresented and unassisted.

Criminal law services

Line chart: data available in the table below
Persons assisted by duty counsel - criminal law 2016/17 2017/18 2018/19
Q3 Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q1 Q2
Per Diem DC 32,748 35,215 30,11639,12634,66840,80633,44038,798
Staff DC 72,275 99,422 93,83684,43784,90096,55477,98581,874
Total 105,023 134,637123,952123,563119,568 137,360 111,425 120,672

Family law services

Line chart: data available in the table below
Persons assisted by duty counsel - family law 2016/17 2017/18 2018/19
Q3 Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q1 Q2
Per Diem DC 17,711 20,527 15,118 19,14817,36920,866 17,278 17,733
Staff DC 17,858 19,068 15,096 14,68415,83621,026 14,400 15,502
Total 35,569 39,595 30,214 33,832 33,205 41,892 31,678 33,235

Representation by a private practice lawyer

Legal aid applicants who are financially eligible, and who are facing a serious legal matter covered by LAO, may be issued a certificate to cover the cost of a private‑practice lawyer.

A certificate is a voucher that a low‑income person can take to one of more than 3,600 private‑practice lawyers across the province who accept legal aid clients. A certificate guarantees the lawyer payment for a certain number of hours if they accept the case.

Line chart: data available in the table below
Certificates issued by area of law 2016/17 2017/18 2018/19
Q3 Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q1 Q2
Criminal law 15,065 15,386 14,520 14,492 13,714 14,053 14,953 14,506
Family law 6,841 7,452 7,200 7,028 6,409 6,411 7,473 7,398
Immigration and refugee law 3,276 3,451 3,259 3,306 3,493 3,628 3,968 4,123
Other[1] 1,235 1,316 1,314 1,365 1,322 1,359 1,400 1,421
Total certificates issued 26,417 27,605 26,293 26,191 24,938 25,451 27,794 27,448

[1] Other is a category that represents all other legal matters covered by LAO certificates, such as: CCB matters, prison law matters and matters before civil tribunal.

Performance measures

Key Performance Indicator (KPI) name Measurement frequency Last measured Target Previous year (2017/18) Current value
% of same day decisions for certificates QuarterlyQ2 2018/1980.0%76.2%77.4%
% of area office appeals heard within 3 days QuarterlyQ2 2018/1980.0%51.3%61.3%
Acceptance rate for certificate applications QuarterlyQ2 2018/1987.0%86.8%84.4%
% of calls answered within 3 minutes (L1) QuarterlyQ2 2018/1980.0%46.0%82.0%
% of calls answered within 3 minutes (LSC) QuarterlyQ2 2018/1980.0%77.0%87.0%
% of calls answered within 3 minutes (In‑custody) QuarterlyQ2 2018/1980.0%64.0%52.0%
% of calls answered within 20 minutes (L2) QuarterlyQ2 2018/1980.0%50.0%58.0%
Overall client satisfaction – % of positive responses (email) AnnualQ4 2017/1880.0%77.0%77.0%
Number of Ontarians financially eligible for LAO's services AnnualQ1 2018/19Maintain1,540,0001,690,000
Overall lawyer satisfaction – % of positive responses AnnualQ3 2017/1860.0%53.0%53.0%

Statement of operations

Revenue Apr. 1, 2017 - Sept. 30, 2017 ($M) Apr. 1, 2018 - Sept. 30, 2018 ($M)
Government funding $207.3M $220.0M
Law Foundation $21.0M $32.3M
Other revenue $6.1M $6.0M
Total revenue $234.4M $258.2M
Core business expenses
Certificate costs $115.8M $112.1M
Client service offices $10.4M $9.9M
Clinic program $45.1M $50.7M
Duty counsel program $26.9M $28.7M
Service innovation $1.1M $1.1M
Total core business expenses $199.4M $202.5M
Operating expenses
Service provider support $3.1M $3.4M
Administrative expenses $17.8M $18.1M
Other expenditures $4.6M $3.4M
Program support $13.1M $13.4M
Total operating expenses $38.5M $38.2M
Total expenditures $237.9M $240.7M
Surplus / (deficit) before other corporate expenditures / savings ($3.5M) $17.5M

Due to rounding, the numbers may not add up precisely to the totals provided.

^

Compte-rendu d'AJO : numéro de l'automne 2018

Le rapport du premier trimestre de l'exercice, d'juillet à septembre 2018, fait le point sur les dernières initiatives d'Aide juridique Ontario.

Message du président‑directeur général

Le 2e trimestre s'est révélé être tout aussi chargé que le précédent! AJO a été invitée par le Comité permanent de la justice et des droits de la personne à présenter ses observations concernant le projet de loi C‑75, qui propose la modification de plusieurs lois, dont le Code criminel; la vérificatrice générale de l'Ontario a présenté une ébauche de rapport de vérification de l'optimisation des ressources pour qu'AJO passe en revue les recommandations, le rapport devant être finalisé et publié en décembre; l'élaboration du plan stratégique quinquennal d'AJO s'est poursuivie et, en octobre, quelques semaines à peine après la fin du 2e trimestre, la restructuration d'AJO a été annoncée au personnel.

La nouvelle structure, qui sera opérationnelle en janvier 2019, définit les responsabilités plus clairement afin d'éviter les chevauchements, de favoriser la prise de décisions plus efficaces, d'accroître l'uniformisation et de mieux mesurer le rendement. L'objectif est de rendre le service à la clientèle plus efficace.

Les nouvelles responsabilités des cadres seront les suivantes :

Vicki Moretti, vice‑présidente, RGT, a annoncé son départ à la retraite après 27 ans de carrière à AJO. Bien qu'elle manquera à ses amis et collègues, nous lui souhaitons beaucoup de bonheur dans ses nouvelles aventures à la retraite.

J'espère que vous trouverez les comptes rendus trimestriels d'AJO utiles. Si vous avez des idées d'amélioration de ces rapports ou des questions sur leur contenu, veuillez les envoyer à gencom@lao.on.ca.

Meilleures salutations.

David Field, président‑directeur général
Aide juridique Ontario

Pleins feux : compte rendu sur les stratégies à l'intention des personnes vulnérables

Examen de la Stratégie de justice applicable aux Autochtones

La Stratégie de justice applicable aux Autochtones, la première des stratégies ciblant les personnes vulnérables d'AJO, a été introduite il y a dix ans. Bien que les enjeux systémiques et juridiques demeurent à un niveau inacceptable pour les Premières Nations, les Métis et les Inuits en Ontario, notre société est entrée dans une nouvelle phase guidée par les principes de vérité, de communication, de respect et de réconciliation. Au cours des prochains mois, AJO rencontrera des membres de communautés autochtones et d'autres intervenantes et intervenants en vue de discuter des possibilités d'élargir et d'améliorer la Stratégie de justice applicable aux Autochtones, ainsi que de rendre plus efficace la prestation des services à ces communautés.

Visitez la page consacrée à la Stratégie pour de plus amples renseignements sur nos efforts continus dans ce domaine.

Consultations sur la Stratégie à l'intention des communautés racialisées

Entre janvier et avril 2018, AJO a rencontré des clientes et clients, des activistes, du personnel d'AJO, ainsi que des représentantes et représentants de cliniques juridiques communautaires, d'associations d'avocats, de centres de santé communautaire, de groupes confessionnels, d'associations professionnelles et d'organismes de services sociaux afin de parler des problèmes auxquelles se trouvent confrontées les communautés racialisées lorsqu'elles tentent d'obtenir des services juridiques. Plus de 400 personnes ont exprimé leurs points de vue en personne et neuf organisations d'intervenants et groupes communautaires ont présenté des observations par écrit.

Les commentaires des intervenantes et des intervenants ont été indispensables à l'élaboration de la Stratégie à l'intention des communautés racialisées, qui énonce des solutions aux problèmes auxquels font face les communautés racialisées dans le système de justice. Cet automne, l'équipe de la Stratégie demandera au conseil d'administration d'approuver la tenue d'autres consultations et de discussions au sujet de la stratégie proposée avant son lancement prévu pour 2019.

Visitez la page consacrée à la Stratégie à l'intention des communautés racialisées pour un résumé des résultats des consultations.

Élaboration de la Stratégie en droit carcéral

Les consultations menées à l'appui de l'élaboration de la Stratégie en droit carcéral, qui ont commencé à l'automne 2017, ont pris fin cet été. Plusieurs expertes et experts ainsi que des intervenantes et intervenants du secteur du droit carcéral ont été consultés, notamment des universitaires, des chercheuses et chercheurs, du personnel de cliniques juridiques communautaires et d'organismes desservant les personnes en détention, des partenaires du système de justice (dont le Comité de coordination des services à la personne et des services juridiques) et du personnel de l'aide juridique. L'équipe de la Stratégie en droit carcéral présentera au conseil d'administration d'AJO une stratégie détaillée, qui servira de base aux efforts d'AJO pour trouver une solution efficace au problème des personnes incarcérées en Ontario. Avec l'approbation du conseil d'administration, l'équipe espère commencer la mise en œuvre de la stratégie en 2019.

Guide d'examen du bien‑fondé d'un appel devant la Commission du consentement et de la capacité

Dans le cadre de son travail sur la Stratégie en matière de santé mentale, AJO a élaboré un guide destiné à aider les comités régionaux et les avocates et avocats inscrits sur les listes d'AJO à préparer leur examen du bien-fondé d'un appel devant la Commission du consentement et de la capacité (CCC). Préparé en consultation avec la Law and Mental Disorder Association, le Comité juridique sur la santé mentale et LAO LAW d'AJO, le guide passe en revue les types courants de requêtes traitées par la CCC, les motifs juridiques d'appel, les délais fixés pour l'appel et le nouveau processus d'examen à deux étapes.

Le Guide d'examen du bien‑fondé d'un appel devant la Commission du consentement et de la capacité est consultable sur le site Web de LAO LAW (il faut entrer dans le système pour y avoir accès), en anglais et en français (sous la rubrique Mental Health Law [Secondary Materials]).

Visitez la page de la Stratégie en matière de santé mentale pour en savoir plus sur cette stratégie.

Annonces et points saillants

À la défense des Ontariens et Ontariennes : arguments contre le projet de loi C‑75

En septembre, AJO a exposé ses préoccupations à l'égard du projet de loi C‑75 devant le Comité permanent de la justice et des droits de la personne. Le projet de loi C‑75 apporte des modifications au Code criminel, à la Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents et à plusieurs autres lois qui ont des conséquences sur les droits de nos clientes et clients et leur accès à la justice. AJO a soulevé des préoccupations concernant quatre des modifications proposées :

  1. Limiter le recours aux enquêtes préliminaires aux infractions les plus graves.

    Il n'existe aucune preuve que les enquêtes préliminaires [c'est‑à‑dire lorsqu'une ou un juge examine les accusations pénales proposées par rapport aux éléments de preuve existants] créent des délais. Au contraire, les preuves, dont des données d'AJO, suggèrent que les enquêtes préliminaires peuvent parfois réduire les délais en permettant d'éliminer des accusations ou de résoudre certaines accusations sans devoir tenir un procès. La Criminal Lawyers' Association partage et appuie la position d'AJO.

  2. Empêcher des non-juristes de représenter des clientes et des clients dans des affaires d'infractions punissables par procédure sommaire.

    Empêcher des non‑juristes, dont des étudiantes et étudiants et des parajuristes, d'agir dans ces cas ralentira encore plus nos tribunaux déjà surchargés. Si les personnes à faible revenu accusées doivent se défendre seules face aux tribunaux pénaux, le fossé dans l'accès à la justice ne fera que s'approfondir pour les membres des communautés déjà défavorisées. Des observations semblables ont été présentées par les Sociétés étudiantes d'aide juridique [SEAJ].

  3. Conférer à la police le pouvoir d'imposer des conditions supplémentaires lorsqu'elle libère des personnes après leur arrestation.

    Bien qu'AJO soit favorable à la proposition de donner à la police le pouvoir de libérer une personne après l'avoir arrêtée, au lieu de la mettre sous garde jusqu'à son enquête sur le cautionnement, les nouveaux pouvoirs que conférerait le projet de loi C‑75 vont au‑delà du pouvoir nécessaire à la police pour atteindre ses objectifs légitimes. Ces pouvoirs supplémentaires permettraient à la police d'imposer des conditions excessivement lourdes à la mise en liberté, qui vouent à l'échec la mise en liberté et minent les efforts du gouvernement en vue de réformer le processus de mise en liberté sous caution.

  4. Autoriser la police à fournir des preuves au moyen d'un affidavit, au lieu d'un témoignage, dans des affaires routinières.

    AJO appuie les observations faites par son avocate principale, Stephanie Heyens, qui a été invitée à faire une présentation devant le Comité permanent au sujet de cette modification proposée. Dans ses observations, Mme Heyens a expliqué pourquoi cette modification éroderait le droit fondamental d'une personne à contester les preuves de la poursuite en contre‑interrogeant la police et a fait valoir que ce changement transférerait injustement le fardeau de la preuve, de la Couronne à la personne inculpée. Elle a également relevé que l'économie de temps de tribunal que cette modification permettrait de réaliser serait compensée par les actes de procédure avant procès que les avocats déposeraient afin de protéger les droits de leurs clientes et clients.

    Après avoir fait l'objet d'intenses critiques, cette disposition a été éliminée du projet de loi du gouvernement de 300 pages qui vise à réduire les délais dans les tribunaux.

Le projet de loi C‑75 fera bientôt l'objet d'une troisième lecture devant la Chambre, puis il sera soumis au Sénat pour débat et modifications supplémentaires éventuelles.

Nouveau processus pour les demandes de certificat pour des personnes en détention

Des membres du personnel d'AJO qui sont autorisés à délivrer des certificats d'aide juridique se trouvent désormais dans la plupart des tribunaux pénaux de l'Ontario, ce qui permet aux avocates et avocats de déposer une demande de certificat d'aide juridique pour une personne en détention et d'obtenir une décision d'AJO à cet égard le même jour. Pour déposer une demande, la personne inculpée doit être représentée par une avocate ou un avocat du secteur privé inscrit sur les listes d'AJO et les deux doivent se trouver au tribunal, prêts à comparaître à une audience, comme une enquête sur le cautionnement ou une audience de règlement des différends. Les personnes inculpées peuvent aussi demander l'aide juridique lorsqu'elles sont en détention, si elles préfèrent.

Visitez notre FAQ pour plus de renseignements.

Projet pilote sur le processus d'autorisation garantie pour les révisions de l'ordonnance relative aux conditions de la mise en liberté sous caution

AJO met en œuvre un projet pilote sur les autorisations liées aux demandes de révision de l'ordonnance relative aux conditions de la mise en liberté sous caution déposées par des avocates et avocats privés s'ils estiment que leur demande a des chances d'aboutir ou s'il est dans l'intérêt public de traiter la demande. L'avocate ou avocat pourra ainsi commencer immédiatement à préparer la demande de révision. Le projet pilote, prévu pour une durée initiale de trois mois, simplifie l'accès aux révisions des conditions de la mise en liberté sous caution et réduit considérablement le délai d'attente entre la décision de mise en liberté sous caution et la révision des conditions de l'ordonnance.

Nouveau processus relatif à la délivrance de certificats concernant les ordonnances de non‑communication

Il n'est plus nécessaire que les clientes ou clients soient parties à une affaire litigieuse en cours, notamment en matière de garde d'enfants, de droit de visite, de protection, de pensions alimentaires pour les enfants ou le conjoint ou de séparation des biens, pour recevoir un certificat d'aide juridique en vue d'obtenir une ordonnance de non‑communication. AJO délivre désormais des certificats indépendants de six heures concernant des ordonnances de non‑communication dans les cas appropriés.

Amélioration des processus administratifs et de facturation

Afin de corriger les problèmes qu'a révélés le sondage annuel d'AJO sur la satisfaction des avocates et avocats, AJO met au point une initiative visant à reconnaître, résoudre [dans la mesure du possible] et signaler des problèmes liés à l'administration des comptes et à la facturation. Des comptes rendus sur cette initiative figureront dans des rapports futurs.

Couverture médiatique [en anglais seulement]

Programs aimed at helping black students facing disciplinary issues can wipe slates clean

Globe and Mail / 24 juin, 2018
Profil des étudiants noirs risquant l'expulsion et du travail de The PLUG, programme financé par AJO.

'A cage without walls': Once in South Korea, North Koreans have little chance of getting asylum elsewhere

CBC / 9 septembre 2018
Joo Eun Kim du Bureau du droit des réfugiés d'AJO a accordé une entrevue pour cet article au sujet des requérants d'asile de Corée du Nord qui n'ont techniquement pas le statut de réfugiés au Canada.

Services aux clients

Accueil, triage et services de soutien

AJO offre des services d’accueil, de triage et de soutien aux personnes qui demandent une aide juridique, aux clients actuels et aux avocats qui fournissent des services au nom de l’aide juridique.

Graphique linéaire : les données figurent dans le tableau ci-dessous
Personnes ayant reçu une aide dans le cadre de l'accueil, du triage et des services de soutien 2016‑2017 2017‑2018 2018‑2019
3e trim. 4e trim. 1er trim. 2e trim. 3e trim. 4e trim. 1er trim. 2e trim.
Téléphone : Niveau 1 68 891 78 089 75 588 69 813 63 187 76 566 70 156 73 498
Téléphone : Niveau 2 26 108 30 167 26 587 26 336 24 235 23 152 26 614 29 117
Téléphone : Ligne des détenus 7 419 8 992 8 773 8 919 7 693 7 437 8 194 9 066
Téléphone : CAA 10 306 11 928 11 132 11 403 11 942 12 061 11 571 11 106

Services des avocats de service

Les avocats de service sont des employés d'AJO et des avocats rémunérés à la journée qui travaillent dans les palais de justice. Ils sont en mesure de fournir une assistance juridique immédiate à des personnes à faible revenu qui autrement n'auraient ni aide ni avocat.

Services de droit criminel

Graphique linéaire : les données figurent dans le tableau ci-dessous
Nombre de personnes aidées par un avocat de service en droit criminel 2016‑2017 2017‑2018 2018‑2019
3e trim. 4e trim. 1er trim. 2e trim. 3e trim. 4e trim. 1er trim. 2e trim.
AS rémunérés à la journée 32 748 35 215 30 116 39 126 34 668 40 806 33 440 38 798
AS salariés 72 275 99 422 93 836 84 437 84 900 96 554 77 985 81 874
Total 105 023 134 637 123 952 123 563 119 568 137 360 111 425 120 672

Services de droit de la famille

Graphique linéaire : les données figurent dans le tableau ci-dessous
Nombre de personnes aidées par un avocat de service en droit de la famille 2016‑2017 2017‑2018 2018‑2019
3e trim. 4e trim. 1er trim. 2e trim. 3e trim. 4e trim. 1er trim. 2e trim.
AS rémunérés à la journée 17 711 20 527 15 118 19 148 17 369 20 866 17 278 17 733
AS salariés 17 858 19 068 15 096 14 684 15 836 21 026 14 400 15 502
Total 35 569 39 595 30 214 33 832 33 205 41 892 31 678 33 235

Représentation par un avocat du secteur privé

Les candidats à l'aide juridique qui sont financièrement admissibles et qui sont aux prises avec de graves problèmes juridiques relevant des domaines de pratique d'AJO peuvent obtenir un certificat d'aide juridique qui couvrira le coût d'un avocat du secteur privé.

Un certificat est un document qu'une personne à faible revenu peut présenter à l'un des quelque 3 600 avocats du secteur privé de la province qui acceptent des clients d'aide juridique. Ce certificat garantit à l'avocat qu'un certain nombre d'heures de travail lui seront payées s'il accepte de s'occuper de l'affaire.

Graphique linéaire : les données figurent dans le tableau ci-dessous
Certificats délivrés par domaine du droit 2016‑2017 2017‑2018 2018‑2019
3e trim. 4e trim. 1er trim. 2e trim. 3e trim. 4e trim. 1er trim. 2e trim.
Droit criminel 15 065 15 386 14 520 14 492 13 714 14 053 14 953 14 506
Droit de la famille 6 841 7 452 7 200 7 028 6 409 6 411 7 473 7 398
Droit de l'immigration et des réfugiés 3 276 3 451 3 259 3 306 3 493 3 628 3 968 4 123
Autres[1] 1 235 1 316 1 314 1 365 1 322 1 359 1 400 1 421
Total 26 417 27 605 26 293 26 191 24 938 25 451 27 794 27 448

[1] « Autres » constitue une catégorie qui représente toutes les autres affaires juridiques pour lesquelles AJO délivre des certificats, telles que: les affaires présentées devant la CCC, les affaires de droit carcéral et les affaires présentées devant les tribunaux civils.

Mesures du rendement

Principaux indicateurs de rendement Fréquence des mesures Dernière mesure effectuée Cible Année précédente (2017‑2018) 2e trimestre 2018‑2019
% des décisions relatives à un certificat prise le jour de la demande Trimestrielle 2e trim. 2018‑2019 80,0 % 76,2 % 77,4 %
% d'appels des bureaux de district entendus dans un délai de trois jours Trimestrielle 2e trim. 2018‑2019 80,0 % 51,3 % 61,3 %
Taux d'acceptation des demandes de certificat Trimestrielle 2e trim. 2018‑2019 87,0 % 86,8 % 84,4 %
% des appels répondus dans les trois minutes (N1) Trimestrielle 2e trim. 2018‑2019 80,0 % 46,0 % 82,0 %
% des appels répondus dans les trois minutes (CAA) Trimestrielle 2e trim. 2018‑2019 80,0 % 77,0 % 87,0 %
% des appels répondus dans les trois minutes (Liste de travail) Trimestrielle 2e trim. 2018‑2019 80,0 % 64,0 % 52,0 %
% des appels répondus dans les vingt minutes (N2) Trimestrielle 2e trim. 2018‑2019 80,0 % 50,0 % 58,0 %
Satisfaction globale de la clientèle – % de réponses positives (en personne) Annuelle 4e trim. 2018‑2019 80,0 % 77,0 % 77,0 %
Nombre d'Ontariens financièrement admissibles aux services d'AJO Annuelle 1er trim. 2018‑2019 Maintien 1 540 000 1 690 000
Satisfaction générale des avocats – % de réponses positives Annuelle 3e trim. 2018‑2019 60,0 % 53,0 % 53,0 %

État du résultat des opérations d’AJO

1er avril 2017 - Sept. 30 2017 (en millions de dollars) 1er avril 2018 - Sept. 30 2018 (en millions de dollars)
Financement provenant des gouvernements 207,3 M $ 220,0 M $
Fondation du droit 21,0 M $ 32,3 M $
Autres revenus 6,1 M $ 6,0 M $
Revenu total 234,4 M $ 258,2 M $
Dépenses pour les activités principales
Programme de certificats 115,8 M $ 112,1 M $
Bureaux qui fournissent des servis aux clients 10,4 M $ 9,9 M $
Programme de cliniques 45,1 M $ 50,7 M $
Programme des avocats de service 26,9 M $ 28,7 M $
Projets d'innovations dans les services 1,1 M $ 1,1 M $
Dépenses totales pour les activités principales 199,4 M $ 202,5 M $
Dépenses de fonctionnement
Soutien aux prestataires de services 3,1 M $ 3,4 M $
Frais administratifs 17,8 M $ 18,1 M $
Autres dépenses 4,6 M $ 3,4 M $
Soutien aux programmes 13,1 M $ 13,4 M $
Total des dépenses de fonctionnement 38,5 M $ 38,2 M $
Total des dépenses 237,9 M $ 240,7 M $
Excédent (déficit) sans les autres dépenses de la société / économies (3,5 M $) 17,5 M $

Les chiffres ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre au total indiqué.

^