Publications & Resources


Publications & Reources

Meeting of the Board of Directors on December 6, 2012

Attendance

Board Members Present:

John McCamus (Chair); Aly Alibhai; Nancy Cooper; Michelle Haigh; John Liston; James McNee; Derry Millar; James Yakimovich; Robert W. Ward, (CEO/Ex Officio)

Staff:

Sue McCaffrey; Stephanie Mealing; Vicki Moretti; Michelle Sguin

Regrets:

Tim Murphy

Opening Items

1. Meeting Agenda

The agenda was approved.

2. Conflict of Interest

No conflict of interest was identified.

3. President & CEO Report (Verbal)

The President and CEO reported as follows:

  • Professor Patrick Monahan has been appointed Deputy Attorney General (DAG). He spoke at a recent MAG/agency event and commented on LAO in positive terms.
  • The MAG/agency events take place twice annually and provide an opportunity for the Ministrys agencies and tribunals to come together, discuss topical issues and share best practices.
  • LAO staff are working on a new Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between MAG and LAO, however, so far MAG has been reluctant to engage in the process.
  • Ali Arlani has been appointed the new Assistant Deputy Attorney General (ADAG). He is experienced and supportive of LAOs strategic direction.
  • The Board discussed the new DAGs history and knowledge of LAO.
  • LAOs financial position has improved significantly. Staff are forecasting a small surplus, which will be applied toward the accumulated deficit.
  • The modernization model is showing signs of success certificate numbers have declined and duty counsel and family mediation services have increased.
  • LAO still has outbound liabilities projected in the range of $21M to $27M. An opportunity exists to address the deficit in smaller quantums in the future.
  • A Board member noted that LAO has demonstrated that transformation is working successfully in every area where it has been applied. He suggested that there are more areas where savings can be realized and that LAO could propose to MAG that all transformation savings be applied to increasing eligibility criteria.

MOTION:

A motion was made and carried that the Board receive the Verbal Report of the President and CEO.

4. Refugee Reform

  • The President and CEO reported on the ongoing effort to address stakeholders concerns regarding reforms to refugee law service delivery. He advised that the Chair has engaged in consultation with the Board Advisory Committee on Immigration and Refugee Law. He reported that maintaining the current refugee law delivery model would cost $21M whereas the federal government contributes $7 million, and he noted that the current level of federal funding is not guaranteed in future years.
  • The Regional Vice-President for the Greater Toronto Area (GTA) Region presented the Refugee Law Services Transformation Report. She reported that the new legislation will take effect December 15, 2012. She noted that increased pressure will be created due to shorter application time frames and new appeal processes. She advised that a modernized service delivery model will target and serve individual client needs, and will include the use of Summary Legal Advice, Enhanced Duty Counsel, a staff office, paralegals, increased technology, etc. She reported on the thorough consultation with refugee law service providers, social service agencies and other stakeholders that took place between October 22 and December 6, 2012. She reported that the information and suggestions gathered are being analyzed to assist in the creation of a new service delivery model proposal for approval by the LAO Board and subsequent presentation to stakeholders in the first quarter of 2013. She highlighted some of the comments and suggestions made by members of the refugee bar, including the lack of capacity and financial resources in the clinic system to do refugee work, the need for increased panel management and the need to provide funding for test case litigation.
  • The President and CEO noted the refugee program is a federal responsibility and that the Association of Legal Aid Plans of Canada (ALAPCA) may be able to recommend potential initiatives from a national perspective.
  • The Regional Vice-President, GTA Region reported that merit assessments are currently being conducted on a case-by-case basis and that the intake process has been amended in order to meet shorter timelines. She reported on next steps, i.e., incorporating some of the ideas put forward in the consultation process and creating an action plan for presentation to the Board of Directors in February 2013.

MOTION:

A motion was made and carried that the Board receive the Refugee Law Services Transformation Report.

5. Potential Alternative Funding Sources (receive)

  • The President and CEO presented the Report on Potential Funding Instruments and Revenue Sources. He highlighted some of the examples of funding sources set out in the report. He noted that, as a provincial agency, LAO is precluded from obtaining charitable status. However, there are some ideas that bear further investigation, i.e., expansion of partnerships and working collaboratively with other agencies, whereby clients could be moved out of the legal system and into more appropriate venues. He advised that legal aid funding models are substantially the same throughout the country, i.e., provincial government transfer payments and Law Foundation funding. The President and CEO suggested that LAO may have the ability to obtain one-time funding projects or capital expenditures, i.e., grants, etc.
  • The Board discussed the benefits of pre-paid legal insurance as well as crowd funding, an internet-based vehicle to fund public interest litigation.
  • The Board discussed possible opportunities to obtain new federal funding for areas in need of particular attention, e.g., a national mental health justice strategy.

MOTION:

A motion was made and carried that the Board receive the Report on Potential Alternative Funding Sources.

6. Clinic Compensation

  • The President and CEO reported that consultation with the Association of Community Legal Clinics of Ontario (ALCLO) regarding the Clinic Compensation Framework is on-going. He advised that, under the proposed framework, the clinics will have a pay range and maximums that are viable and will be tied to LAO levels. He noted that under the current proposal, the clinic staff will have received a pay increase in excess of 17% over the last four years, a much higher rate than the public sector more generally.
  • The Vice-President and CAO presented the Clinic Compensation Framework Discussion Paper. She reported that $1.1M remains to be allocated, representing 2% to base salary plus 1% pay equity. She noted the proposal to offer another 1% pay equity payment in 2013. She advised that the proposed compensation framework would align a maximum funding grid for each position to LAO positions, except in the lawyer salary range, where maximum funding for clinic lawyers of $115,000 exceeds LAOs range of $107,000. She advised that clinic lawyer positions at the maximum level would not receive an increase but the funds would remain within the clinic system.
  • The President and CEO indicated that while some clinics have indicated that they would prefer that LAO set compensation levels, the new regime will require clinic Boards to assume this responsibility. He indicated that upon receipt of the ACLCOs submissions, LAO will finalize the framework and then will deploy the compensation increases consistent with the new framework.

MOTION:

A motion was made and carried that the Board receive the Draft Clinic Compensation Funding Framework Discussion Paper.

Réunion du conseil d’administration du 6 décembre 2012

Présence

Membres du conseil présent(e)s :

John McCamus (président); Aly Alibhai; Nancy Cooper; Michelle Haigh; John Liston; James McNee; Derry Millar; James Yakimovich; Robert W. Ward, (président-directeur général, membre d’office)

Personnel :

Sue McCaffrey; Stephanie Mealing; Vicki Moretti; Michelle Séguin

Absences prévues :

Tim Murphy

Points d’ouverture de la réunion

1. Ordre du jour

L’ordre du jour est adopté.

2. Conflit d’intérêts

Aucun conflit d’intérêts n’a été divulgué.

3. Rapport (verbal) du président-directeur général

Le président-directeur général a présenté le rapport suivant :

  • Le professeur Patrick Monahan a été nommé sous-procureur général (SPG). Il a parlé lors d’un événement récent du MPG/organismes et a fait des commentaires positifs sur AJO.
  • Les événements MPG/organismes ont lieu deux fois par année et donnent une occasion aux organismes et tribunaux du MPG de se réunir, de discuter de sujets d’actualité et de partager des pratiques exemplaires.
  • Le personnel d’AJO travaille sur un nouveau protocole d’entente (PE) entre le MPG et AJO; toutefois, le MPG s’est jusqu’à maintenant montré réticent à participer au processus.
  • Ali Arlani a été nommé sous-procureur général adjoint (SPGA). Il a de l’expérience et appuie l’orientation stratégique d’AJO.
  • Le conseil a discuté du passé du nouveau SPG et de ses connaissances d’AJO.
  • La situation financière d’AJO s’est considérablement améliorée. Le personnel prévoit un léger excédent, qui sera utilisé afin de réduire le déficit accumulé.
  • Le modèle de modernisation montre des signes de succès – les nombres de certificat ont diminué et les services d’avocat de services et de médiation familiale ont augmenté.
  • AJO a encore un passif projeté de l’ordre de 21 à 27 millions de dollars. Il existe une possibilité de régler la question du déficit en plus petits montants dans l’avenir.
  • Un membre du conseil a fait remarquer qu’AJO a démontré que la transformation fonctionne dans tous les domaines où elle a été appliquée. Il a signalé qu’il existe d’autres domaines où il est possible de réaliser des économies, et qu’AJO pourrait proposer au MPG que toutes les économies découlant de la transformation soient appliquées à l’augmentation des critères d’admissibilité.

MOTION :

La motion suivante a été présentée, appuyée et adoptée : Que le conseil reçoive le rapport verbal du président-directeur général.

4. Réforme du droit des réfugiés

  • Le président-directeur général a rendu compte des efforts actuellement déployés afin de traiter des préoccupations des intervenants concernant les réformes dans la prestation des services en droit des réfugiés. Il a informé le conseil que le président prend part à une consultation avec le Comité consultatif sur l’immigration et le droit des réfugiés. Il a signalé que le maintien du modèle actuel de prestation des services en droit des réfugiés couterait 21 millions de $, alors que le gouvernement fédéral verse 7 millions de $, et il a également souligné que le niveau actuel de financement fédéral n’est pas garanti dans les années à venir.
  • La vice-présidente régionale pour la région du Grand Toronto (RGT) a présenté le rapport intitulé Transformation des services en droit des réfugiés. Elle a signalé que la nouvelle loi entrera en vigueur le 15 décembre 2012. Elle a mentionné qu’une pression accrue sera créée en raison des délais réduits pour les demandes et des nouveaux processus d’appel. Elle a signalé qu’un modèle de prestation de services modernisé ciblera et servira les besoins des clients individuels et comprendra l’utilisation de conseils juridiques sommaires, l’élargissement des services des avocats de services, un bureau avec du personnel, des parajuristes, un meilleur recours à la technologie, etc. Elle a rendu compte de la consultation exhaustive avec les fournisseurs de services en droit des réfugiés, les organismes de services sociaux et d’autres intervenants qui a eu lieu le 22 octobre et le 6 décembre 2012. Elle a signalé que les renseignements et les suggestions recueillis sont en cours d’analyse afin d’aider à la création de la proposition d’un nouveau modèle de prestation de services qui sera présentée pour approbation du conseil d’AJO, puis présentée aux intervenants au cours du premier trimestre de 2013. Elle a souligné certains des commentaires et suggestions faits par des membres du barreau de droit des réfugiés, notamment le manque de capacité et de ressources financières dans le système des cliniques pour accomplir du travail en droit des réfugiés, la nécessité d’une gestion des listes accrue et le besoin de fournir du financement pour des causes types.
  • Le président-directeur général a fait remarquer que le programme des réfugiés est de responsabilité fédérale et que l’Association des régimes d’aide juridique du Canada (ARAJC) pourrait être en mesure de recommander de possibles initiatives d’une perspective nationale.
  • La vice-présidente régionale de la RGT a signalé que les évaluations du fondement des demandes sont actuellement effectuées sur une base ponctuelle et que le processus de sélection a été modifié afin de répondre aux délais raccourcis. Elle a rendu compte des prochaines étapes, soit l’inclusion de certaines des idées mises de l’avant lors du processus de consultation et la création d’un plan d’actions qui sera présenté au conseil d’administration en février 2013.

MOTION :

La motion suivante a été présentée, appuyée et adoptée : Que le conseil reçoive le rapport intitulé Refugee Law Services Transformation Report.

5. Autres sources de financement possibles (réception)

  • Le président-directeur général a présenté le rapport intitulé Report on Potential Funding Instruments and Revenue Sources. Il a souligné quelques uns des exemples de sources de financement que le rapport énonce. Il a précisé que, en tant qu’organisme provincial, AJO ne peut obtenir le statut d’organisme de bienfaisance. Cependant, on retrouve quelques idées qui méritent d’être examinées plus en profondeur, soit l’expansion des partenariats et le travail en collaboration avec d’autres organismes, qui permettraient aux clients d’être déplacés du système de justice vers d’autres endroits plus appropriés. Il a informé le conseil que les modèles de financement de l’aide juridique sont essentiellement les mêmes partout au pays, c.-à-d. des paiements de transfert du gouvernement provincial et du financement des fondations du droit. Le président-directeur général a suggéré qu’AJO pouvait avoir la capacité d’obtenir du financement ponctuel pour des projets ou des dépenses en immobilisations, par ex, des subventions, etc.
  • Le conseil a discuté des avantages de l’assurance juridique prépayée ainsi que du « sociofinancement », un véhicule utilisant Internet afin de financer des litiges d’intérêt public.
  • Le conseil a discuté de possibles occasions d’obtenir du nouveau financement du fédéral dans des domaines demandant une attention particulière, par ex. une stratégie nationale sur la santé mentale en matière de justice.

MOTION :

La motion suivante a été présentée, appuyée et adoptée : Que le conseil reçoive le rapport sur les autres sources de financement possibles.

6. Rémunération du personnel des cliniques

  • Le président-directeur général a signalé que la consultation avec l’Association des cliniques juridiques communautaires de l’Ontario (ACJCO) concernant le cadre de financement des cliniques en matière de rémunération du personnel est en cours. Il a informé le conseil que, en vertu du cadre proposé, les cliniques auront une échelle salariale et des maximums qui sont viables et seront liés aux niveaux d’AJO. Il a mentionné que, selon la proposition actuelle, le personnel des cliniques recevrait une augmentation de salaire de plus de 17 p. cent pour les quatre dernières années, une hausse beaucoup plus élevée que le secteur public de façon générale.
  • La vice-présidente et DGA a présenté le document de travail sur le cadre de financement des cliniques en matière de rémunération du personnel. Elle a signalé qu’il reste 1,1 million de $ à allouer, ce qui représente 2 p. cent au salaire de base plus 1 p. cent en équité salariale. Elle a mentionné la proposition d’offrir un autre 1 p. cent de paiement d’équité salariale en 2013. Elle a informé le conseil que le cadre proposé pour la rémunération alignerait la grille de financement maximale pour chaque poste avec les postes d’AJO, sauf pour l’échelle salariale des avocats, où le financement maximal pour les avocats et avocates des cliniques de 115 000 $ dépasse l’échelle d’AJO qui est de 107 000 $. Elle a signalé que les postes d’avocats de clinique à l’échelon supérieur ne recevraient pas d’augmentation, mais que les fonds resteraient dans le système des cliniques.
  • Le président-directeur général a mentionné que, bien que certaines cliniques aient indiqué qu’elles préféreraient qu’AJO fixe les niveaux de rémunération, le nouveau régime exigera que les conseils des cliniques assument cette responsabilité. Il a indiqué que, dès la réception des soumissions de l’ACJCO, AJO finalisera le cadre, puis déploiera ensuite les augmentations de rémunération conformément au nouveau cadre.

MOTION :

La motion suivante a été présentée, appuyée et adoptée : Que le conseil reçoive le document de travail sur le cadre de financement des cliniques en matière de rémunération du personnel.