Publications & Resources

Office of the Ombudsman Annual Report 2017/18


Posted: November 2018

The following summary contains information pertaining to Legal Aid Ontario in the annual report from the Office of the Ombudsman of Ontario. This report was released on June 27, 2018.

Background

The Ombudsman's Office was established in 1975 to help Ontarians resolve problems with provincial government services and administration. LAO receives inquiries from the Ombudsman's early resolution officers on behalf of members of the public. Many of the inquiries received by the Ombudsman's Office are questions that can be answered by frontline staff and do not require any assistance from LAO. The Ombudsman's operations section where early resolution officers and investigators work, focuses on resolving individual cases. Cases that cannot be informally resolved are referred for formal investigation, while others are brought to the attention of senior government officials and addressed.

The Ombudsman's Office oversees more than 1,000 public sector bodies, comprising more than 500 Ontario government ministries, programs, agencies, boards, commissions, corporations and tribunals, as well as 444 municipalities, 72 school boards, 10 school authorities and 21 universities.

Details

For the 2017‑18 fiscal year, it should be noted that inquiries pertaining to LAO accounted for only 0.6% of all cases received by the Ombudsman. The chart below compares the numbers recorded by the Ombudsman as compared to the number of contacts recorded by LAO. We find it encouraging that many of the inquiries can be resolved by the Office of the Ombudsman using their knowledge about LAO. Over the years, we have established a good working relationship with this office and they have developed a comprehensive database of LAO's policies and procedures.

Number of LAO-related inquiries the Ombudsman received between 2005 and 2018, compared to the number of inquiries the Ombudsman then made to LAO. 

		In 2017-18, the Ombudsman received 120 LAO-related inquiries and made 33 inquiries to LAO.

		In 2016-17, this number was 111 versus 39.

		In 2015-16, 118 versus 41.

		In 2014-15, 157 versus 70.

		In 2013-14, 150 versus 66.

		In 2012-13, 201 versus 107.

		In 2011-12, 159 versus 75.

		In 2010-11, 125 versus 74.

		In 2009-10 122 versus 53.

		In 2008-09, 112 versus 45.

		In 2007-08, 141 versus 47.

		In 2006-07, 154 versus 24.

		In 2005-06, 159 versus 33.

LAO was not among the top‑10 provincial government organizations and programs complained about to the Office of the Ombudsman during 2017‑18. For context, the following depicts the breakdown of the 832 complaints pertaining to the Ministry of the Attorney General (MAG):

Agency Complaints
Children's Lawyer 33
Court Administration 54
Environment and Land Tribunals Ontario 27
Human Rights Legal Support Centre 12
Legal Aid Clinic 12
Legal Aid Ontario 120
Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee 182
Safety, Licensing Appeals and Standards Tribunals Ontario 18
Social Justice Tribunals Ontario 269

As a point of comparison, the 2017‑18 business plan for our major funder, the Ministry of the Attorney General, shows that the contributions by MAG to the Social Justice Tribunals of Ontario are one‑fifth that of LAO, but the complaints received by the Ombudsman's Office for that agency are more than twice that of those pertaining to LAO. The Ombudsman's Office identified that the most common complaints involved disagreement or dissatisfaction with decisions made by LAO about eligibility for legal aid, poor communication or service.

The annual report detailed three of their interactions with our organization:

  • A 17‑year‑old youth with cerebral palsy required legal assistance in seeking financial support from his parents. He needed to appeal the cancellation of his legal aid certificate before an upcoming court submission deadline. Our Office contacted LAO and as a result, it convened a special committee meeting to review the teen's appeal, where his certificate was reinstated.
  • Our inquiries in another case prompted LAO to improve its training for staff who handle complex legal documents. We were initially told LAO could waive the costs that a man was ordered to pay at the end of a lengthy family law dispute, since lawyers on both sides were obtained through LAO, and the man was facing financial hardship. But almost six months later, LAO discovered its staff had made an error and it could not waive the man's costs. After our staff inquired, LAO provided him with a thorough explanation and committed to additional training for its staff.
  • We helped a woman from Manitoba who had struggled for six months to get Legal Aid Ontario to recognize her approval for legal aid in a custody case in Ontario. After we contacted LAO, its staff acknowledged the delay, reviewed the woman's file and granted her a legal aid certificate.

Conclusion

We will continue to enhance our relationship with the Office of the Ombudsman and use inquiries to identify possible gaps in our policies and procedures.


^

Publications et documents d'information

Bureau de l'Ombudsman - Rapport annuel 2017–2018


Dernière mise à jour : November 2018

Le résumé suivant présente des renseignements sur Aide juridique Ontario (AJO) tirés du rapport annuel du Bureau de l'Ombudsman. Ce rapport a été rendu public le 20 juin 2018.

Renseignements généraux

Le Bureau de l'Ombudsman a été créé en 1975 pour aider les Ontariennes et les Ontariens à régler les problèmes touchant les services et l'administration du gouvernement provincial. AJO reçoit les demandes de renseignements des agents de règlement préventif des différends de l'Ombudsman au nom des particuliers. Une bonne partie des plaintes reçues par le Bureau de l'Ombudsman peuvent être réglées par le personnel de première ligne et ne nécessitent pas l'aide d'AJO. La section des opérations du Bureau, qui comprend des agents de règlement préventif des différends et des enquêteurs, se concentre sur le règlement des cas individuels. Les dossiers qui ne peuvent pas être réglés à l'amiable font l'objet d'une enquête officielle, tandis que les autres sont portés à l'attention des cadres du gouvernement et traités par ceux‑ci.

Le Bureau de l'Ombudsman exerce sa surveillance sur plus de 1 000 organismes du secteur public, dont plus de 500 ministères, programmes, organismes, conseils, commissions, sociétés et tribunaux du gouvernement de l'Ontario, ainsi que 444 municipalités, 72 conseils scolaires, 10 administrations scolaires et 21 universités.

Détails

En ce qui concerne l'exercice 2017‑2018, il convient de prendre note que les demandes de renseignements concernant AJO ont représenté seulement 0,6 % de tous les dossiers ouverts par l'Ombudsman. Le tableau ci‑dessous compare les chiffres des plaintes enregistrées par le Bureau de l'Ombudsman à celles de l'AJO. Nous trouvons encourageant le fait que le Bureau de l'Ombudsman soit en mesure de régler une bonne partie des demandes grâce à sa connaissance d'AJO. Au fil des ans, nous avons établi une bonne relation de travail avec le Bureau et ce dernier a créé une base de données générale sur les politiques et les procédures d'AJO.

Ce graphique compare le nombre de plaintes concernant AJO reçues par le Bureau de l'Ombudsman au nombre de plaintes déférées à AJO par le Bureau de l'Ombudsman.

		En 2017-2018, le nombre de plaintes concernant AJO reçues par le Bureau de l'Ombudsman était de 120 tandis que le nombre de plaintes déférées à AJO par le Bureau de l'Ombudsman était de 33. 

		En 2016-2017, ce nombre était de 111 contre 39.

		En 2015-2016, 118 contre 41.

		En 2014-2015, 157 contre 70.

		En 2013-2014, 150 contre 66.

		En 2012-2013, 201 contre 107.

		En 2011-2012, 159 contre 75.

		En 2010-2011, 125 contre 74.

		En 2009-2010, 122 contre 53.

		En 2008-2009, 112 contre 45.

		En 2007-2008, 141 contre 47.

		En 2006-2007, 154 contre 24.

		En 2005-2006, 159 contre 33.

AJO ne faisait pas partie des 10 organismes et programmes du gouvernement provincial ayant le plus souvent fait l'objet de plaintes adressées au Bureau de l'Ombudsman en 2017‑2018. Cependant, pour le contexte, le tableau suivant décrit la ventilation des 832 plaintes visant le ministère du Procureur général :

Organisme Plaintes
Avocat des enfants 33
Administration des tribunaux 54
Tribunaux de l'environnement et de l'aménagement du territoire Ontario 27
Centre d'assistance juridique en matière de droits de la personne 12
Cliniques d'aide juridique 12
Aide juridique Ontario 120
Bureau du tuteur et curateur public 182
Tribunaux de la sécurité, des appels en matière de permis et des normes Ontario 18
Tribunaux de justice sociale de l'Ontario 269

Aux fins de comparaison, le plan d'activités 2017‑2018 de notre bailleur de fonds principal, le ministère du Procureur général, indique que les contributions du ministère aux Tribunaux de justice sociale Ontario représentent un cinquième de celles d'AJO, mais les plaintes reçues par le Bureau de l'Ombudsman au sujet de cet organisme sont plus de deux fois plus nombreuses que celles visant AJO.

Selon le Bureau de l'Ombudsman, les plaintes portaient le plus souvent sur un désaccord ou une insatisfaction à l'égard d'une décision d'AJO concernant l'admissibilité à l'aide juridique, ou sur la médiocrité d'une communication ou d'un service.

Le rapport annuel décrivait trois des interactions du Bureau avec notre organisme :

  • Un jeune homme de 17 ans atteint de paralysie cérébrale avait besoin d'aide juridique pour obtenir un soutien financier de ses parents. Il devait faire appel de l'annulation de son certificat d'aide juridique avant la date limite imminente d'une présentation au tribunal. Notre Bureau a communiqué avec l'AJO, qui a convoqué une réunion devant un comité spéciale pour examiner l'appel de cet adolescent; le certificat a été rétabli à l'issue de la réunion.
  • Nos demandes d'information dans un autre cas ont incité l'AJO à améliorer la formation de son personnel responsable des documents juridiques complexes. Au départ, nous avions été informés qu'AJO pourrait annuler les frais exigés d'un homme après un long litige relevant du droit de la famille, car les avocats des deux parties avaient été retenus par l'entremise de l'AJO, étant donné que cet homme avait des difficultés financières. Mais presque six mois plus tard, l'AJO a découvert que son personnel avait fait une erreur et qu'elle ne pouvait pas annuler ces frais. Notre personnel s'étant renseigné, l'AJO a donné une explication détaillée à cet homme et s'est engagée à fournir une formation supplémentaire à son personnel.
  • Nous avons aidé une femme du Manitoba qui s'efforçait d'obtenir depuis six mois qu'Aide juridique Ontario lui accorde une approbation dans une affaire de garde en Ontario. Quand nous avons communiqué avec l'AJO, son personnel a reconnu le retard dans ce dossier, a examiné le cas de cette femme et lui a accordé un certificat d'aide juridique.

Conclusion

Nous continuerons à renforcer notre relation avec le Bureau de l'Ombudsman et à examiner les sujets des plaintes afin d'identifier d'éventuelles lacunes dans nos politiques et procédures.

^