Publications & Resources

Office of the Ombudsman Annual Report 2013/14


Posted: January 14, 2015

Summary of the Ombudsmans 2013-14 Report on LAO

The Office of the Ombudsman investigates complaints about services provided by the Government of Ontario and its organizations. LAO receives inquiries from the Ombudsmans Early Resolution Officers on behalf of members of the public. Many of the inquiries received by the Ombudsman are questions that can be answered by the Ombudsmans Office and do not require any assistance from LAO. The Operations section of the Office, which consists of Early Resolution Officers and Investigators, focuses on resolving individual cases. Cases that cannot be informally resolved are referred for formal investigation, while others are brought to the attention of the senior government officials and successfully addressed.


Details

Top 15 Provincial Government Organizations and Programs Complained About in 2013-14

(courtesy of 2013-14 Ombudsman Annual Report)

Organization Number of Cases 2013-14 Percentage of all cases within authority Number of cases 2012-13 Percentage Change from 2012-13
Hydro One 6,961 38.6% 328 2,000%
Family Responsibility Office 1,157 6.42% 794 45%
Ontario Disability Support Program 621 3.44% 565 10%
Workplace Safety and Insurance Board 552 3.06% 609 -10%
Developmental Services Program 501 2.78% 631 -20%
Driver Licensing 244 1.35% 380 -35%
Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee 180 1.00% 162 11%
Legal Aid Ontario 150 0.83% 201 -25%
Ontario Health Insurance Plan 149 0.83% not in top 15 -
Driver Licensing Medical Review Section 141 0.78% not in top 15 -
Landlord and Tenant Board 138 0.77% 139 -1%
Ontario Student Assistance Program 134 0.74% 166 -20%
Service Ontario 124 0.69% not in top 15 -
Community Care Access Centre 122 0.68% not in top 15 -
Municipal Property Assessment Corp. 116 0.64% 108 7%

The following chart illustrates our rank in the standings of the Ombudsmans office in previous years.

Annual year Ranking
2013-14 8th out of the top 15
2012-13 8th out of the top 15
2011-12 6th out of the top 15
2010-11 6th out of the top 15
2009-10 15th out of the top 20
2008-09 Not in top 20
2007-08 19th out of the top 20
2006-07 20th out of the top 20
2005-06 Not in top 20

  • The percentage of inquiries regarding LAO that were made to the Office of the Ombudsman in 2013-14 remains consistent. For past nine years, we have always been between 0.83-1.28 per cent of the Ombudsmans total inquiries received.

  • The chart below compares the numbers recorded by the Ombudsmans office as compared to the number of contacts recorded by LAO. We find it encouraging that many of the inquiries can be resolved by the Office of the Ombudsman using their knowledge about LAO. This year, we were contacted regarding 66 matters but there were 150 inquiries received regarding LAO. Last year, we were contacted regarding 107 matters. Therefore, the inquiries received this year have decreased by 39% since 2012-13.

  • View the text alternative for the number of contacts chart.

    Chart comparing the numbers recorded by the Ombudsmans office as compared to the number of contacts recorded by LAO with text alternative available below.
    2006-2007 2007-2008 2008-2009 2009-2010 2010-2011 2011-2012 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
    Number of contacts recorded by LAO 33 24 47 45 53 74 75 107 66
    Numbers of contacts recorded by the Ombudsmans office 159 154 141 112 122 125 159 201 150

    Of the 66 inquiries received from the Office of the Ombudsman, 4 matters were determined to be substantiated.

    • On two occasions, it was confirmed that a client's change of solicitor request had been refused but a notice was never sent to the client. As an apology,:

      • an opinion certificate was issued to one client
      • an appeal to the Area Committee was allowed for the other client even though the appeal deadline had expired
    • The clients debt was removed when documents in the hard copy file confirmed that the original contributory certificate had been amended to be non-contributory. This is the matter that was highlighted in the case study section of the Ombudsmans report.

    • A client alleged that she was waiting for a response to her complaint from the District Office. Although the lawyer had received a response, the decision had not been relayed to the client. The District Office then sent a response directly to the client.

  • In 2013-14, the inquiries covered issues such as application and certificate status from both the District Offices and the Client Service Centre, appeals at both Area Committee and Provincial Office levels, policy information and processes in Client Account Services, Lawyer Services and Payments, Investigations and Complaints.

    District office / Client Service Centre = 47%, Appeals = 32%, Policy = 12%, and Departments = 9%
  • For the first time in three years, LAO was the focus of a case study in the annual report:

    A woman complained to the Ombudsman that a collection agency was asking her to repay an unpaid debt of $5,900 to Legal Aid Ontario. She had used the services of a Legal Aid lawyer in 2004 in custody proceedings involving her grandchildren, but said she was never told she would have to pay. She tried calling Legal Aid for clarification of the decade-old debt, but got no response. Ombudsman staff asked Legal Aid to review the womans file. It revealed that she had signed an agreement in 2004 to reimburse the agency, but the debt was forgiven in 2007 because her financial situation changed and she was no longer required to pay. This change was never passed on to Legal Aids client account services department and wasnt reflected on her account. When they discovered this, Legal Aid staff immediately let the woman know she did not owe anything, and the collection efforts ceased.

    This client had not contacted the LAO Complaints department but brought her concern directly to the Ombudsman. Once the Complaints department was advised of the concern, a review was conducted and the Complaints Manager discovered the discrepancy and contacted the Client Account Services department with the findings. At that time, the clients debt was immediately written off and an apology was provided.

    The Complaints Department has focussed on increasing our visibility to the public to ensure that clients are aware of the option of contacting the Complaints department with any concerns.

Case studies or special reports LAO was the focus of

Annual year Historically
2012-13 LAO was not the focus of any case studies or special reports
2011-12 LAO was not the focus of any case studies or special reports
2010-11 LAO was the focus of one Ombudsman investigation (Client Account Services [CAS] matter). There were five matters which were the subject of a second inquiry (three CAS matters and two District Office matters). Of that number, there were two matters that were the subject of a third inquiry (two CAS matters). LAO was the focus of two case studies in the Ombudsmans annual report
2009-10 There was a further follow up to the Richard Wills matter. LAO was the focus of two case studies There were two matters which were the subject of a second inquiry (both were CAS matters)
2008-09 The Office of the Ombudsman wrote a follow up to the Richard Wills matter
2007-08 LAO was the focus of one of the Ombudsmans SORT (Special Ombudsman Response Team) investigations. It was named A Test of Wills regarding the handling of accounts for client Richard Wills.
2005-06 LAO was the focus of one case study

Considerations

The Ombudsmans office continues to be increasing its visibility which, in turn, resulted in an increase of 37% in call volumes compared to 2012-13. As well, in 2013-14:

  • there were 1,205 print articles and 1,203 news items on radio and television in Ontario and across Canada
  • The Ombudsman was honoured by two magazines in 2013-2014, as part of their Most Influential lists. In August 2013, he was named one of the top 25 most influential lawyers in Canada by Canadian Lawyer. In September 2013, Toronto Life chose him as one of its 50 most influential people in Toronto.
  • the Ombudsmans Twitter account reached more than 20,000 followers
  • The following for the office on Facebook and YouTube also increased

Following the recent election, Ontarios information and privacy commissioner called on Premier Kathleen Wynne to change the law so there would be penalties for destroying public documents to evade access-to-information rules. Premier Wynne replied that she would do that by re-introducing what was called Bill 179 before the election, a batch of reforms to public-sector accountability and oversight that the government introduced in March but that died when the legislature was dissolved. The reforms addressed what the Office of the Ombudsman considers to be an accountability gap: the inability of their office to investigate the MUSH sector of municipalities, universities, school boards, hospitals and long-term care facilities, childrens aid societies and police. These areas are within the jurisdiction of every other provincial Ombudsman.

In an attempt to maintain our relationship with this organization, the Complaints Manager started the year with a personal meeting with the Manager of the Early Resolution Officers, the Senior Counsel and the Director of Investigations to clarify expectations regarding notification of the closing of a file. As an additional resource for the Ombudsmans Office, a copy of the Complaints e-learning module was provided to be distributed to their staff. The Complaints Manager was also permitted to attend the annual Sharpening Your Teeth seminar which provided great insight into the processes of that office.


Conclusion

LAO will continue to enhance our relationship with the Office of the Ombudsman and utilize the subjects of inquiries to identify possible gaps in our policies and procedures.

Publications et documents d'information

Bureau de l'Ombudsman - Rapport annuel 2013-2014


Le 14 janvier 2015

Résumé du rapport 2013-2014 de l'Ombudsman sur AJO

Le Bureau de l'Ombudsman examine les plaintes du public au sujet de services fournis par le gouvernement de l’Ontario et ses organismes.Les agents de règlement préventif du Bureau de l'Ombudsman transmettent des demandes de renseignements à AJO au nom de membres du public. Une grande partie des demandes de renseignements que reçoit l'Ombudsman peuvent être réglées par le Bureau de l'Ombudsman et ne nécessitent pas l’intervention d’AJO. La section des opérations du Bureau de l'Ombudsman, qui se compose d’agents de règlement préventif et d’enquêteurs, se concentre sur le règlement de cas individuels. Les cas qui ne peuvent pas être résolus de manière informelle font l’objet d’une enquête officielle, tandis que d’autres sont portés à l’attention de hauts responsables gouvernementaux et ainsi réglés avec succès.


Détails

Les 15 organismes et programmes du gouvernement provincial ayant fait l’objet du plus grand nombre de plaintes en 2013-14

(d’après le Rapport annuel 2013-2014 du Bureau de l'Ombudsman)

Organisation Nombre de cas en 2013-2014 Pourcentage de tous les cas relevant de notre compétence Nombre de cas en 2012-2013 Variation en pourcentage par rapport à 2012-2013
Hydro One 6 961 38,6 % 328 2 000 %
Bureau des obligations familiales 1 157 6,42 % 794 45 %
Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées 621 3,44 % 565 10 %
Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail 552 3,06 % 609 -10 %
Programmes des services aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle 501 2,78 % 631 -20 %
Permis de conduire 244 1,35 % 380 -35 %
Bureau du tuteur et curateur public 180 1,00 % 162 11 %
Aide juridique Ontario 150 0,83 % 201 -25 %
Assurance-santé de l’Ontario 149 0,83 % pas dans les 15 premiers -
Permis de conduire - Section d’étude des dossiers médicaux 141 0,78 % pas dans les 15 premiers -
Commission de la location immobilière 138 0,77 % 139 -1%
Régime d’aide financière aux étudiantes et étudiants de l’Ontario 134 0,74 % 166 -20 %
Service Ontario 124 0,69 % pas dans les 15 premiers -
Centres d’accès aux soins communautaires 122 0,68 % pas dans les 15 premiers -
Société d’évaluation foncière des municipalités 116 0,64 % 108 7 %

Le tableau suivant illustre notre rang dans le classement du Bureau de l'Ombudsman au cours des années précédentes.
Années Rang
2013-14 8e des 15 premiers
2012-13 8e des 15 premiers
2011-12 6e des 15 premiers
2010-11 6e des 15 premiers
2009-10 15e des 20 premiers
2008-09 Pas dans les 20 premiers
2007-08 19e des 20 premiers
2006-07 20e des 20 premiers
2005-06 Pas dans les 20 premiers

  • Le pourcentage des demandes de renseignements concernant AJO reçues par le Bureau de l'Ombudsman en 2013-2014 demeure cohérent. En effet, au cours des neuf dernières années, AJO a toujours représenté de 0,83 à 1,28 pour cent du nombre total de demandes de renseignements reçu par le Bureau de l'Ombudsman.

  • Le tableau ci-dessous compare les chiffres enregistrés par le Bureau de l'Ombudsman au nombre de contacts enregistrés par AJO. Nous trouvons encourageant le fait que le Bureau de l'Ombudsman soit en en mesure de répondre directement à la plupart des demandes de renseignements concernant AJO. Ainsi, cette année, le Bureau de l'Ombudsman nous a contactés au sujet de 66 questions, alors qu’il avait reçu au total 150 demandes de renseignements concernant AJO. L’année dernière, nous avions été contactés au sujet de 107 questions. Les demandes de renseignements que nous avons reçues cette année ont donc diminué de 39 % par rapport à 2012-2013.

    Consultez l’alternative texte pour prendre connaissance du nombre de contacts indiqué dans le diagramme.

    Le diagramme montre la comparaison entre le nombre de contacts enregistrée par le Bureau de l'Ombudsman et le nombre de contacts enregistrés par AJO. Il est suivi d’une alternative texte.
    2006-2007 2007-2008 2008-2009 2009-2010 2010-2011 2011-2012 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
    nombre de contacts enregistrés par AJO 33 24 47 45 53 74 75 107 66
    chiffres enregistrés par le Bureau de l'Ombudsman 159 154 141 112 122 125 159 201 150

    Quatre des 66 demandes de renseignements que nous a transmises le Bureau de l'Ombudsman se sont avérées fondées.

    • Dans deux cas, il a été confirmé que la demande de changement d’avocat d’un client avait été refusée, sans qu’un avis soit envoyé au client. À titre d’excuse pour cette omission :

      • un certificat pour l’obtention d’un avis juridique a été remis à l’un de ces deux clients;
      • l’autre client a été autorisé à interjeter appel devant le comité régional, même si le délai d’appel avait expiré.
    • AJO a annulé le montant que devait une cliente quand les documents du dossier imprimé ont confirmé que le certificat initial avec entente de contribution financière de cette cliente avait été modifié pour annuler cette contribution. Cette question a été mise en évidence dans la section des exposés de cas du rapport de l'Ombudsman.

    • Une cliente avait affirmé qu’elle attendait une réponse à sa plainte du bureau de district. Son avocat avait reçu une réponse, mais la décision n’avait pas été communiquée à la cliente. Le bureau de district a alors envoyé une réponse directement à la cliente.

  • En 2013-2014, les demandes de renseignements ont porté sur des questions relevant de diverses catégories, dont les suivantes : demandes de certificats et de renseignements sur le statut des demandes auprès de bureaux de district et du Centre de service à la clientèle; appels, tant au niveau des comités régionaux que du Bureau provincial; politiques et processus du Service des comptes-clients, des Services aux avocats et paiements ainsi que du Services des enquêtes et des plaintes.

    bureaux de district / Centre de service à la clientèle = 47 %, Appels = 32 %, Politiques = 12 %, et Services = 9 %
  • Pour la première fois en trois ans, AJO a fait l’objet d’un exposé de cas dans le rapport annuel :

    « Une femme s’est plainte à l'Ombudsman qu’une agence de recouvrement lui demandait de rembourser une dette impayée de 5 900 $ à Aide juridique Ontario. Cette femme avait fait appel aux services d’un avocat de l’Aide juridique lors d’une procédure relative à la garde de ses petits-enfants, mais elle nous a expliqué qu’on ne lui avait jamais dit qu’elle aurait à payer. Elle avait essayé d’appeler Aide juridique Ontario pour lui demander de clarifier cette dette vieille d’une dizaine d’années, mais n’avait pas obtenu de réponse. Le personnel de l'Ombudsman a demandé à Aide juridique Ontario d’examiner le dossier de cette femme. L’examen a révélé que la cliente avait signé un accord de remboursement en 2004, mais que sa dette avait été radiée en 2007, car sa situation financière avait changé et elle n’avait donc plus rien à payer. Cependant, ce changement n’avait jamais été communiqué au Service des comptes clients d’Aide juridique Ontario et n’avait donc pas été reporté au compte de cette femme. Quand le personnel d’Aide juridique Ontario l’a constaté, il l’a immédiatement informée qu’elle ne devait plus rien et a mis fin à ses tentatives de recouvrement. »

    Cette cliente n’avait pas communiqué avec le service des plaintes d’AJO, mais s’était plainte directement à l'Ombudsman. Lorsque le service des plaintes d’AJO a été informé de la question, le dossier a été examiné et le chef du service a découvert l’erreur qu’il a communiquée au Service des comptes clients. La dette de la cliente a été immédiatement radiée et des excuses lui ont été présentées.

    Le Service des plaintes s’est efforcé d’augmenter sa visibilité auprès du public afin que les clients sachent qu’ils peuvent communiquer avec ce service s’ils ont la moindre préoccupation.

Exposés de cas ou rapports spéciaux axés sur AJO

Années Dans le passé
2012-13 AJO n’a fait l’objet d’aucun exposé de cas ou rapport spécial.
2011-2012 AJO n’a fait l’objet d’aucun exposé de cas ou rapport spécial.
2010-2011 AJO a fait l’objet d’une enquête de l'Ombudsman (affaire concernant le Service des comptes clients [SCC]). Cinq questions ont fait l’objet d’une deuxième enquête (trois questions concernant le SCC et deux questions concernant un bureau de district). De ce nombre, deux questions ont fait l’objet d’une troisième enquête (deux questions concernant le SCC). AJO a fait l’objet de deux exposés de cas dans le rapport annuel de l'Ombudsman
2009-2010 Il y a eu un autre suivi de l’affaire Richard Wills. AJO a fait l’objet de deux exposés de cas. Deux questions qui ont fait l’objet d’une deuxième enquête (les deux étaient des questions concernant le SCC)
2008-2009 Le Bureau de l'Ombudsman a rédigé un suivi de l’affaire Richard Wills
2007-2008 AJO a fait l’objet d’une enquête de l’EISO (Équipe d’intervention spéciale de l'Ombudsman). Le rapport de cette enquête, qui avait pour titre Le fiasco de l’affaire Wills, portait sur le traitement des comptes pour le client Richard Wills.
2005-2006 AJO a fait l’objet d’un exposé de cas

Points à considérer

La visibilité du Bureau de l'Ombudsman ne cesse de croître, ce qui s’est traduit par une augmentation de 37 % du nombre de demandes qu’il a reçues par rapport à 2012-2013. De plus, en 2013-2014 :

  • 1 205 articles sont parus dans la presse écrite à propos du Bureau de l'Ombudsman, surtout dans des quotidiens en Ontario et ailleurs au Canada.
  • l'Ombudsman a eu l’honneur d’être sélectionné par deux magazines au palmarès de leurs « Personnalités les plus influentes » en 2013-2014. En août 2013, il a été nommé parmi les 25 avocats les plus influents au Canada par Canadian Lawyer. En septembre 2013, Toronto Life l’a désigné comme l’une des 50 personnes les plus influentes à Toronto.
  • Plus de 20 000 personnes suivent le compte Twitter de l'Ombudsman.
  • Le suivi du Bureau de l'Ombudsman sur Facebook et sur YouTube a aussi augmenté.

À la suite de la récente élection provinciale, le commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de l’Ontario a demandé à la première ministre Kathleen Wynne de changer la loi afin d’imposer des sanctions lorsque des documents publics sont supprimés pour se soustraire aux règles d’accès à l’information. La première ministre Wynne a répondu qu’elle le ferait en réintroduisant ce qu’on appelait le projet de loi 179 avant l’élection, soit un ensemble de réformes portant sur la surveillance et la responsabilisation du secteur public. Ce projet avait été introduit par le gouvernement en mars, mais la dissolution de l’Assemblée législative y a mis fin. Ces réformes traitaient notamment de ce que le Bureau de l'Ombudsman considère comme un manque de responsabilisation : le fait que l'Ombudsman n’a pas le pouvoir d’enquêter sur ce qu’il appelle le « secteur MUSH » (municipalités, universités, conseils scolaires, hôpitaux et foyers de soins de longue durée, sociétés d’aide à l’enfance et services de police). Tous les autres Ombudsmans provinciaux au Canada ont compétence pour enquêter dans ces secteurs.

Afin de maintenir de bonnes relations avec cet organisme, au début de l’année, le chef du Service des plaintes d’AJO a rencontré personnellement le chef des agents de règlement préventif, l’avocat en chef et le directeur des enquêtes du Bureau de l'Ombudsman dans le but de clarifier les attentes en matière de notification lors de la fermeture d’un dossier. Une copie du module d’apprentissage en ligne sur les plaintes a aussi été remise au Bureau de l'Ombudsman à titre de ressources supplémentaires pour ses employés. Le chef du service des plaintes d’AJO a également été autorisé à assister au séminaire annuel « Aiguisez-vous les dents » du Bureau de l'Ombudsman, ce qui lui a permis d’avoir une idée plus précise des méthodes de celui-ci.


Conclusion

AJO continuera de renforcer sa relation avec le Bureau de l'Ombudsman et de se servir des sujets sur lesquels portaient les demandes de renseignements pour cerner les éventuelles lacunes dans ses politiques et procédures.