Publications & Resources

Archive: Case management and tariff pre-authorization consultations (October/November 2012)

Publications & Reources

Case management and tariff pre-authorization


Legal Aid Ontario (LAO) plans to reach out to Ontarios criminal and family lawyers for feedback on two proposed initiatives:

  • Case management, which will give LAO an opportunity to provide members of the bar with budgets on some complex, costly family and criminal law matters (over $8,000), where the tariff may be inadequate. The proposed process will be similar to the Big Case Management program familiar to some criminal lawyers. LAO and counsel will discuss the nature of a case likely to be costly, determine a particular course of action and develop a budget.

  • Tariff pre-authorization pilot. LAO proposes to increase the number of pre-authorized tariff hours in priority areas such as Child and Family Services Act (CFSA) status reviews and criminal summary conviction trials. The pilot will be evaluated within a year to determine its impact on client access to justice, cost to LAO, and lawyers.


Participate in person or by video conference


LAO is holding in-person and video conference consultation sessions on these two initiatives. Please register online to participate and provide your feedback in person or in the space provided.


Share your views online


Please view the case management and tariff pre-authorization presentation and provide your feedback in the space provided.


Questions and answers


Go to the Q&A section for answers to common questions about LAOs case management and tariff pre-authorization process. Please submit your question electronically if you dont see an answer youre seeking. We will add to this section as the consultations proceed.

Consultation

Gestion des causes et autorisations préalables en vertu du tarif (Octobre/Novembre 2012)

Aide juridique Ontario prévoit consulter les avocats en droit criminel et en droit de la famille de l'Ontario du 15 octobre au 2 novembre et obtenir leurs commentaires sur deux initiatives proposées.

  • La gestion des causes qui permettra à AJO de fournir aux avocats un budget pour certaines affaires coûteuses et complexes en droit de la famille et en droit criminel (causes qui dépassent 8000 $ et pour lesquelles le tarif est insuffisant). Comme dans le cas de gestion des causes majeures, programme connu des criminalistes, AJO et l'avocat discutent de la nature de la cause susceptible d'être coûteuse, élaborent un plan d'action et établissent un budget.

  • Le projet pilote d’autorisations préalables en vertu du tarif. AJO propose d'augmenter le nombre d'heures autorisées préalablement dans des domaines prioritaires comme les révisions du statut en vertu de la Loi sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille (LSEF) et les procès pour une infraction criminelle sommaire. Le projet sera évalué dans un an pour déterminer son effet sur l'accès des clients à la justice, sur le coût pour AJO et sur l'exercice du droit.


Participation à une séance de consultation en personne ou par vidéoconférence

AJO tiendra des séances de consultation sur ces initiatives, en personne et par vidéoconférence, auprès des avocats. Les personnes qui désirent participer à une des séances de consultation sont priées de se rendre à la page d'inscription à une séance pour s’y inscrire.


Commentez en ligne

Visionnez une des présentations portant sur la gestion des causes et les autorisations préalables sur le site Web d’Aide juridique Ontario et soumettez vos commentaires en ligne.


Questions et réponses

Les réponses à des questions fréquemment posées sur la gestion des causes et les autorisations préalables en vertu du tarif se trouvent à la section des Questions et réponses. Les personnes qui ne trouvent pas leurs questions dans cette section peuvent les soumettre en ligne.