2015/16 support for clinics through the Clinic Transformation Fund and the Fund to Strengthen the Capacity of Community and Legal Clinics

LAO developed two funds—a Clinic Transformation Fund and Fund to Strengthen the Capacity of Community and Legal Clinics—to support innovation in clinic transformation for three years, commencing in 2013/14. This is the final year of support through these funds. The goal of both funds has been to:

Clinics that received 2015/16 funding

ARCH Disability Law Centre

Project: on behalf of St. Michael’s Legal Services Project
Funding: $76,384

in a new model of partnership between medical and legal services, clients receive holistic legal and medical services in the Department of Community and Family Medicine at St. Michael's Hospital in Toronto. This is the first primary care setting collaboration of its king in Canada between medical and legal services. Its goals are to:

  • stabilize clients’ situations
  • prevent cascading problems at this key access point
  • help medical staff and social workers identify and refer legal issues, including discrimination
  • coordinate and provide legal education with support of 80 physicians and 80 allied health care providers
  • provide leadership on identified law reform and systemic advocacy topics linking poverty, health and the law.

Project partners include the ARCH Disability Law Centre, the HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario (HALCO), Aboriginal Legal Services Toronto, Neighbourhood Legal Services, St. Michael's Hospital and its six-clinic site academic family health team.

Community Legal Clinic – Simcoe, Haliburton, Kawartha Lakes

Project: Clinic Law Interview Project (CLIP)
Funding: $300,000

The CLIP uses innovative technology to support an efficient process for client interviews. It continues to develop the infrastructure needed to expand an access-to-justice interview tool across clinics. Accomplishments to date include completion of a consolidated intake interview, ODSP denial case preparation and 17 installations of seven operable interviews.

Eight specialty clinics

Project: Specialty Clinics Transformation Project
Funding: $375,000

This funding will help eight speciality clinics move into one shared location. It will identify the potential for an enhanced shared IT/communications infrastructure that supports shared administrative functions, reduce real estate and administrative costs, and allow for reinvestment into client services. By the end of July 2016, all of the participating specialty clinics moved to their new location.

The East Toronto Community Legal Services, Flemingdon Community Legal Services, Willowdale Community Legal Services and Neighbourhood Community Legal Services

Project: Don River Transformation Project
Funding: $310,000

These clinics are collaborating to enhance services and efficiencies through integration of administration and governance. The result: enhanced services to their clients, stronger ties to their communities, and better support to help staff address client needs.

Eastern Region Community Legal Clinics

Funding: $369,833

Last year, these clinics conducted a needs and resource assessment. This year, they will implement changes in their service practice and the delivery of poverty law services developed through the assessment.

Legal Health Check-Up Project led by Halton Community Legal Services

Funding: $503,000

This clinic has now successfully developed the Legal Health Check Up, a responsive, web-based questionnaire that asks clients about common legal problems they may encounter in the areas of income, housing, education, employment and social, medical and family supports. The clinic works with several community intermediaries who use the Legal Health Check Up to refer clients to the clinic.

To date, this tool has been successfully adopted by Halton, Guelph-Wellington and Brant-Haldimand-Norfolk clinics. They are consolidating its use in their catchment areas and expanding the project.

Pilots are underway in nine additional clinics in Ontario’s southwest.

Legal Clinic of Guelph and Wellington County for the Southwest Region Executive

Funding: $127,000

This funding will help clinics in the Southwest Region build a virtual back office network that will streamline administrative functions and free up resources to reinvest in service delivery.

Northern Ontario Community Legal Clinic

Project: Implementation of feasibility study findings
Funding: $367,120

Now that the feasibility study to help eleven legal clinics in northern Ontario collaborate and coordinate their services is complete, the clinics will implement the plans that arose from the study.

Northumberland Community Legal Centre, Community Legal Clinic - Simcoe, Haliburton, Kawartha Lakes, Community Advocacy and Legal Centre, Durham College Department of Justice and Emergency Services, and Fleming College School of Justice and Business Studies

Project: Learning opportunities and placements for paralegal students to the Orillia clinic
Funding: $80,100

This is an expansion of a successful program that provides paralegal students with learning opportunities and placements to the Orillia clinic, and helps the clinic pilot strategies for expanding paralegal services and training. The program has opened two on-campus Campus Paralegal Student Assistance (CSPA) offices.

Northwest Community Legal Clinic, Huron Perth Legal Clinic, Community Advocacy and Legal Centre, and Northumberland Community Legal Clinic

Project: Rural and Remote Boldness Project
Funding: $318,000

These clinics are developing, testing and evaluating innovative service delivery models in rural and remote areas of the province, including:

  • an app for clients to access legal information, area service providers, and data for strategic resource decision-making
  • a geo-mapping/data analytics tool for rural and remote areas
  • evaluation methodology
  • use of trusted intermediaries and development of partners such as public libraries and health service providers.

Three community legal clinics in Ottawa

Project: Ottawa Clinics Transformation Project
Funding: $123,810

These clinics have completed the needs assessment and feasibility study for which they received funding in previous years. Now they are amalgamating their administrative functions into one new entity.

South Etobicoke Community Legal Services and Rexdale Community Legal Clinic

Project: SETOB/REX Transformation Project
Funding: $102,000

These clinics will engage an experienced management consultant to help their Boards develop a long-range plan for improving and increasing service delivery for all low-income inhabitants of Etobicoke.

Southwest region clinics

Project: Southwest Region Clinic Coordination Project
Funding: $101,430

These clinics will use this funding to hire professional strategic support to help them work on multiple transformation projects as well as integration opportunities to improve community-based client services.

Transforming Justice: Trans* Legal Needs Assessment Ontario

Funding: $49,314

HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario (HALCO) is leading this project, which continues to identify barriers faced by transgender (trans*) Ontarians in accessing justice and legal aid services, recommend strategies to overcome these barriers and share its findings with Ontario’s trans community as well as legal service providers. The project will include legal education workshops for trans* Ontarians and training for legal service providers. Get more information.

Waterloo Region Community Legal Services

Funding: $150,000

This project will develop a holistic service model through partnerships that uses social workers and students to support clinic law services across the region.

Soutien aux cliniques par le biais du Fonds de transformation des cliniques et du Fonds de renforcement de la capacité des cliniques juridiques et autres organismes communautaires en 2015‑2016

AJO a établi deux fonds, le Fonds de transformation des cliniques et le Fonds de renforcement de la capacité des cliniques juridiques et autres organismes communautaires, pour appuyer l’innovation dans la transformation des cliniques. Ces fonds ont été mis en place au début de l’exercice 2013‑2014 pour une durée de trois ans. Nous en sommes à la dernière de ces trois années. Les objectifs de ces deux fonds sont les suivants :

Liste des cliniques ayant reçu un financement en 2015‑2016

ARCH Centre du droit des personnes handicapées

Au nom du projet de services juridiques de St. Michael’s
Financement : 76 384 $

Dans le cadre d’un nouveau modèle de partenariat entre les services médicaux et les services juridiques, les clients reçoivent des services juridiques et médicaux complets au service de médecine familial de l’hôpital St. Michael’s de Toronto. C’est la première fois au Canada qu’une telle collaboration entre les services médicaux et les services juridiques est établie dans un établissement de soins primaires. Ces objectifs sont les suivants :

  • Stabiliser la situation du client;
  • Éviter que les problèmes ne se succèdent en cascade à cet important point d’accès;
  • Aider le personnel médical et les travailleurs sociaux à repérer les problèmes juridiques, y compris la discrimination, et à effectuer les renvois nécessaires;
  • Coordonner et fournir l’information juridique avec l’aide de 80 médecins et 80 prestataires de soins de santé alliés;
  • Assurer le leadership à l’endroit de la réforme du droit et des questions juridiques systémiques détectées qui lient pauvreté, santé et droit.

Les partenaires du projet sont ARCH Centre du droit des personnes handicapées, la HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario (HALCO), les Aboriginal Legal Services Toronto, les Neighbourhood Legal Services, l’hôpital St. Michael’s et son Academic Family Health Team qui œuvre dans ses six cliniques.

Community Legal Clinic – Simcoe, Haliburton, Kawartha Lakes

Projet : Clinic Law Interview Project (CLIP)
Financement : 300 000 ;$

La clinique utilise une technologie innovante qui vient appuyer un processus efficace pour les entrevues des clients. L’élaboration de l’infrastructure pour l’expansion de l’accès à l’outil d’entrevue sur les questions juridiques à toutes les cliniques se poursuit. Les réalisations de ce projet sont la finalisation d’un outil d’entrevue consolidé, la préparation de causes relatives aux décisions négatives du POSPH et l’utilisation de sept modèles d’entrevues en ligne dans 17 organismes ou cliniques.

Huit cliniques spécialisées

Projet : projet de transformation des cliniques spécialisées
Financement : 375 000 $

Ce financement aidera huit cliniques spécialisées à emménager sous un même toit. Ce projet permet d’étudier la possibilité d’utiliser une infrastructure commune et améliorée pour les TI et les communications afin de permettre un usage commun des fonctions administratives, de réduire les coûts de location de bureaux et les coûts administratifs entraînant des économies qui pourraient être attribuées aux services aux clients. À la fin de juillet 2016, toutes les cliniques participantes étaient installées dans les nouveaux locaux.

East Toronto Community Legal Services, Flemingdon Community Legal Services, Willowdale Community Legal Services et Neighbourhood Community Legal Services

Projet : projet de transformation Don River
Financement : 310 000 $

Ces cliniques collaborent à l’amélioration des services et à l’augmentation des efficiences par l’intégration de l’administration et de la gouvernance. Le résultat : amélioration des services aux clients, renforcement des relations dans leur collectivité et amélioration du soutien au personnel pour l’aider à répondre aux besoins des clients.

Cliniques juridiques communautaires de la région de l’Est

Financement : 369 833 $

L’année dernière, ces cliniques ont effectué une évaluation des besoins et des ressources. Cette année, elles mettront en œuvre les changements à la pratique des cliniques et à la prestation des services en droit des pauvres découlant des résultats de l’évaluation.

Bilan de santé juridique dirigé par les Halton Community Legal Services

Financement : 503 000 $

La clinique a élaboré, avec succès, son Bilan de santé juridique, un questionnaire en ligne portant sur les problèmes juridiques courants auxquels les clients peuvent faire face dans des domaines comme le revenu, le logement, les études, l’emploi, l’aide sociale, la santé et le soutien aux familles. La clinique a recours à plusieurs intermédiaires de la communauté qui utilise le Bilan de santé juridique pour renvoyer les clients à la clinique.

À ce jour, l’outil a été mis à l’essai avec succès par la Halton, Guelph-Wellington Clinic et la Brant-Haldimand-Norfolk Clinic. Ces cliniques en élargissent l’usage dans leur zone de service et visent à étendre le projet aux autres cliniques.

Des essais sont en cours dans neuf autres cliniques du sud-ouest de l’Ontario.

Legal Clinic of Guelph and Wellington County pour la direction de la région du Sud-Ouest

Financement : 127 000 $

Ce financement aidera les cliniques à créer un réseau qui permettra aux cliniques de la région du Sud-Ouest de simplifier les fonctions administratives, d’en faire une utilisation commune et de libérer des ressources qui seront attribuées à la prestation des services.

Cliniques juridiques communautaires de la région du Nord

Projet : mise en œuvre des résultats de l’étude de faisabilité
Financement : 367 120 $

Maintenant que l’étude de faisabilité visant à aider onze cliniques juridiques du nord de l’Ontario à collaborer et à coordonner leurs services est terminée, les cliniques mettent en œuvre les plans générés par l’étude.

Northumberland Community Legal Centre, Community Legal Clinic - Simcoe, Haliburton, Kawartha Lakes, Community Advocacy and Legal Centre, Durham College Department of Justice and Emergency Services et Fleming College School of Justice and Business Studies

Projet : possibilités de formation et stages d’étudiants parajuristes à la clinique d’Orillia
Financement  80 100 $

Ce projet est un élargissement d’un programme pour les étudiants parajuristes qui a été couronné de succès et qui leur fournit des possibilités d’apprentissage et de stages à la clinique d’Orillia. Le programme aidera également les cliniques à mettre à l’essai des stratégies pour améliorer la formation des parajuristes et élargir la gamme des services qu’ils offrent. Ce programme a ouvert des bureaux dans deux campus dans lesquels des parajuristes fournissent des services aux étudiants et aux clients.

Northwest Community Legal Clinic, Huron Perth Legal Clinic, Community Advocacy and Legal Centre et Northumberland Community Legal Clinic

Projet : Rural and Remote Boldness Project
Financement : 318 000 $

Ces cliniques participent à l’élaboration, à l’essai et à l’évaluation de modèles de prestation des services dans les régions rurales et éloignées de la province, notamment :

  • Une appli pour les clients leur permettant d’avoir accès à de l’information juridique, à l’intention des prestataires de service et pour la collecte de données afin de prendre des décisions stratégiques relatives aux ressources;
  • Un outil de géolocalisation et d’analyse d’audience Internet pour les régions rurales et éloignées;
  • Une méthodologie d’évaluation;
  • Le recours à des intermédiaires de confiance et l’établissement de partenaires comme les bibliothèques et les prestataires de soins de santé.

Trois cliniques juridiques communautaires d’Ottawa

Projet : projet de transformation des cliniques d’Ottawa
Financement : 123 810 $

Ces cliniques ont terminé l’évaluation des besoins et l’étude de faisabilité pour lesquelles elles ont reçu un financement les années précédentes. Maintenant, elles fusionnent les fonctions administratives en une entité unique.

South Etobicoke Community Legal Services

Projet : projet de transformation SETOB/REX
Financement : 102 000 $

Ces cliniques retiendront les services d’un conseiller en gestion expérimenté afin d’aider leurs conseils d’administration à élaborer un plan à long terme pour améliorer et étendre la prestation des services pour tous les habitants à faible revenu d’Etobicoke.

Cliniques de la région du Sud-Ouest

Projet : projet de coordination de la région du Sud-Ouest
Financement : 101 430 $

Ces cliniques se serviront de ce financement pour embaucher un professionnel du soutien stratégique pour faciliter leur travail dans le cadre de multiples projets de transformation ainsi que dans le cadre de l’intégration des possibilités d’améliorations des services au sein de la communauté elle-même.

Transforming Justice : Évaluation des besoins juridiques des trans

Financement : 49 314 $

HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario (HALCO) dirige ce projet qui continue de cerner les obstacles auxquels font face les personnes transgenres (trans) en Ontario lorsqu’elles essaient d’avoir accès à des services juridiques et à l’aide juridique, de recommander des stratégies pour éliminer ces barrières et de communiquer ses résultats à la communauté trans de l’Ontario ainsi qu’aux prestataires de services juridiques. Le projet comprendra des ateliers d’éducation juridique pour les trans de l’Ontario et de formation pour les prestataires de services juridiques. Pour en savoir plus

Waterloo Region Community Legal Services

Financement : 150 000 $

Ce financement appuiera l’élaboration d’un modèle de service complet ayant recours aux travailleurs sociaux et aux étudiants pour offrir des services du domaine de pratique des cliniques holistiques dans la région.