Privacy incident notification

LAO Privacy Policy

Legal Aid Ontario privacy notification about computer server from the St. Thomas legal aid office.

Posted on: June 14, 2011


What happened:

The incident in this case arose when a server, containing numerous files dating back ten years, including correspondence with legal aid clients and lawyers who had dealt with the Area Office in St. Thomas, was moved on December 21, 2010 to the Provincial Office of Legal Aid Ontario from the Area Office in St. Thomas. An employee was assigned the task of removing the hard drive from the server. This was not done in a timely way and the server could not be located when staff looked for it. Senior management was advised and the decision was made to immediately advise the Information and Privacy Commissioner's office, which was done.


What has been done in response to the breach:

In accordance with our privacy breach policy, LAO has addressed the issues of containment, notification and prevention.

Containment: LAO contacted the building maintenance personnel and determined that there had been no garbage removal of computer equipment. Inquiries were made of IT staff as to whether anyone removed the server. No one has indicated that they did so.

The server was password protected with two passwords. IT staff have calculated that if an individual used a computer program to attempt to find out the password, at the rate of one million attempts per second, the first password might be obtained in 22.9 years and the second password in 1,648 years, based on statistical probability. This is beyond the capability of the normal person and cannot be done manually. Based on these calculations, Legal Aid Ontario is confident that there is an extremely low risk of any third party breaking into the server through the password protection.

Legal Aid Ontario also undertook testing by a third party provider to test the vulnerability of the server in other respects. The third party tester advised Legal Aid Ontario that if an individual has very specialized knowledge, the password safeguards could be circumvented and the information viewed another way. Accordingly, there is a risk of access to the information on the server.


Notification: The IPC was notified as soon as the privacy breach was known. LAO concluded that it is appropriate to post an advisory to clients and lawyers about the loss of the server on the LAO website. This notification is in accordance with that decision.


Individuals who may be affected by this privacy incident:

If at any time you have concerns about the possible misuse of your personal information in relation to this privacy incident you may contact the credit reporting bureaus (either Equifax at 1-800-465-7166 or www.equifax.ca or TransUnion at 1-800-663-9980 or www.tuc.ca) and inquire as to whether it would be appropriate in the circumstances for your credit file to be flagged to indicate that your personal information may have been put at risk and may be vulnerable to fraud. You may also ask for a copy of your credit report and review it for suspicious activity. As well, it is always advisable to monitor and verify all bank accounts, credit card and other financial transaction statements for any suspicious activity.

For individuals who may have provided Legal Aid Ontario with their Social Insurance Number (SIN) Service Canada assists Canadians with their interactions with the Federal Government. It has guidelines on what to do if a SIN is lost or stolen which may be accessed at
www.servicecanada.gc.ca./eng/sin/lost.shtml


You may also wish to review the publication by the Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner/Ontario (IPC) entitled, Identity Theft: How to Protect Yourself, which may be accessed at www.ipc.on.ca. You may also obtain a copy of this publication by calling the IPC at (416) 326-3333 or toll free 1-800-387-0073.

If you would like to discuss this matter or you have any questions, please call 416-204-4706 or 1-800-661-8258 ext. 4706 and ask for the FIPPA Co-ordinator.


Prevention: LAO has reviewed its policies and now requires that computer equipment which is to be destroyed will have the data on the hard drive deleted remotely in the originating locations before the equipment is shipped. This will minimize the risk of loss of data, if the equipment is lost in transit. The equipment must be delivered to an IT person, with a signature required. That IT person must then place the equipment into the locked secure IT area until the hard drive is removed from the equipment. An education program is being developed and delivered to staff throughout the province to reinforce the importance of privacy and security.


Previous notices

Expand October 29, 2010: Privacy incident notice to Legal Aid Ontario clients

less October 29, 2010: Privacy incident notice to Legal Aid Ontario clients

Posted October 29, 2010


On October 4, 2010, a staff person at Legal Aid Ontario made a mistake in sending out by fax some information that contained client names and certificate numbers. As a result, the names and certificate numbers of some clients were sent to a law office that was not the office of the counsel representing those clients.

Legal Aid Ontario was contacted by the secretary who received the incorrect information and the fax transmission was stopped. All of the incorrectly faxed information was shredded by the secretary in the law office that had received it, and no one else viewed the information.

LAO is posting this message to notify clients of this privacy issue. LAO is committed to protecting client information and we apologize to all affected clients for this improper disclosure of information. LAO is taking steps to review our policies and procedures to limit the possibility of a similar error happening again.

If you are a legal aid client and you want to know if your name and certificate number were included in this disclosure, please contact Melissa Jean-Baptiste at 416-204-4706 or toll free at 1-800-668-8258 ext. 4706.



Expand July 16, 2007: Privacy advisory for clients

less July 16, 2007: Privacy advisory for clients

Posted on: July 16 /07

Legal Aid Ontario has inadvertently displayed a limited amount of personal information of some clients whose cases were concluded with an award of costs in their favour. As a result, a privacy complaint was made to the Information and Privacy Commissioner.

In resolving this complaint, LAO has undertaken to post an advisory so that clients may be aware of the possibility that a limited amount of personal information may have been displayed.

The affected clients are persons whose cases have been concluded with an award of costs in their favour. Those costs have been assigned to LAO. A letter has been sent to the opposing party who owes costs to LAO, using a window envelope. Because of a change in letter format, the following text has been displayed, between January 2007 and June, 2007:

"The court awarded costs on behalf of our client, (name of client)
The Legal Aid Services Act gives Legal Aid the right to collect costs."

Legal Aid Ontario has corrected the problem and no further disclosures of this nature are taking place. LAO takes seriously its privacy obligations and we offer our apology to affected individuals.

For further information you may contact the Freedom of Information Co-ordinator at Legal Aid Ontario by calling 416-979-1446 or 1 800 668-8258.

Avis d’incident relatif à la protection des renseignements personnels

LAO Privacy Policy

Avis d’Aide juridique Ontario au sujet d’un incident relatif à la protection de renseignements personnels contenus dans le serveur du bureau de St. Thomas.

Le 16 juin 2010


Ce qui s’est produit :

Le 21 décembre 2010, un serveur contenant plusieurs fichiers datant de dix ans, y compris de la correspondance avec des clients de l’aide juridique et des avocats qui ont fait affaire avec le bureau régional de Saint Thomas, a été déménagé du bureau régional de Saint Thomas au bureau provincial d’Aide juridique Ontario. Un employé avait pour tâche d’enlever le disque dur du serveur. Cela n’a pas été fait en temps opportun et il n’a pas été possible de retrouver le serveur lorsque le personnel s’est mis à le chercher. Les cadres supérieurs ont été informés et il a été décidé d’avertir immédiatement le bureau de la Commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée (CIPVP), ce qui a été fait.


Ce qui a été fait pour répondre à cette atteinte à la protection de renseignements personnels :

Conformément à nos politiques concernant les atteintes à la vie privée, AJO a pris des mesures de confinement, de notification et de prévention.

Confinement : AJO a communiqué avec le personnel d’entretien de l’immeuble et a conclu qu’aucun équipement informatique n’a été mis aux ordures. On a demandé au personnel des TI si quelqu’un avait enlevé le serveur. Personne n’a indiqué l’avoir fait.

Le serveur était protégé par deux mots de passe. En se basant sur des probabilités statistiques, le personnel des TI a calculé que si une personne utilisait un programme informatique pour trouver le mot de passe au taux de un million de tentatives à la seconde, le premier mot de passe pourrait être obtenu en 22,9 années et le deuxième en 1 648 années. Ceci dépasse la capacité d’une personne normale et ne peut être fait manuellement. En se fondant sur ces calculs, Aide juridique Ontario considère que le risque qu’une tierce partie accède au contenu du serveur en découvrant les mots de passe est extrêmement faible.

Aide juridique Ontario a aussi demandé à une tierce partie d’analyser la vulnérabilité du serveur sous d’autres angles. La tierce partie qui a procédé à l’analyse a informé Aide juridique Ontario qu’une personne disposant de connaissances hautement spécialisées peut contourner les mesures de protection par mot de passe et accéder à l’information d’une autre façon. Il y a donc risque qu’on accède à l’information sur le serveur.


Notification : La CIPVP a été avisée aussitôt que cette atteinte à la protection des renseignements personnels a été connue. AJO a conclu qu’il était approprié d’afficher un avis informant les clients et avocats concernant la perte du serveur sur le site Web d’AJO. Le présent avis est conforme à cette décision.


Personnes pouvant être touchées par cette atteinte à la protection des renseignements personnels

Si, en tout temps, vous avez des inquiétudes concernant un possible mauvais usage de renseignements personnels lié à cet incident relatif à la protection de renseignements personnels, vous pouvez communiquer avec les agences d’évaluation du crédit (soit Equifax au numéro 1 800 465-7166 ou à l’adresse www.equifax.ca, soit TransUnion au numéro 1 800 663-9980 ou à l’adresse www.tuc.ca) et demander s’il serait approprié dans les circonstances que votre dossier de crédit comporte un note indiquant que des renseignements personnels pourraient être mal utilisés et que vous pourriez être vulnérable à la fraude. Vous pouvez aussi demander une copie de votre rapport de solvabilité et l’examiner pour y déceler des activités suspectes. Il est aussi toujours utile de surveiller et de vérifier tous les comptes bancaires, toutes les cartes de crédit et tous les autres états de transaction financière pour y déceler des activités suspectes.

Les personnes qui pourraient avoir donné leur numéro d’assurance sociale (NAS) à AJO peuvent s’adresser à Service Canada qui aide les Canadiennes et Canadiens dans leurs rapports avec le gouvernement fédéral. Les directives concernant ce qui doit être fait si un NAS est perdu ou volé se trouvent à l’adresse suivante :
www.servicecanada.gc.ca/fra/nas/perdu/perdue.shtml.

Vous voudrez peut-être aussi consulter le document du bureau de la CIPVP intitulé Vol d'identité : Comment vous protéger, auquel on peut accéder à l’adresse http://www.ipc.on.ca/french/home-page/default.aspx. Vous pouvez aussi en obtenir une copie en téléphonant au bureau de la CIPVP au (416) 326-3333 ou, sans frais, au 1 800 387-0073.

Si vous voulez parler de cette question ou avez des questions, veuillez téléphoner au 416 204-4706 ou au 1 800 661-8258, poste 4706 et demander la coordonnatrice LAIPVP.


Prévention : AJO a revu ses politiques et exige maintenant que les données sur le disque dur d’équipement informatique qui doit être détruit soient effacées à distance, sur les lieux d’origine de l’équipement, avant même son expédition. Ceci minimisera les risques de pertes de données si l’équipement est perdu pendant le transfert. L’équipement doit être livré à une personne des TI et une signature est nécessaire. Cette personne des TI doit ensuite mettre l’équipement dans la zone sûre et barrée des TI jusqu’à ce que le disque dur soit retiré de l’équipement. Un programme d’éducation réitérant l’importance de la protection des renseignements personnels et de la sécurité est en cours d’élaboration et d’exécution dans l’ensemble de la province.


Avis antérieurs

Expand Le 29 october 2010 : Avis aux clients d’AJO au sujet d’un incident relatif à la protection de la vie privée survenu

less Le 29 octobre 2010 : Avis aux clients d’AJO au sujet d’un incident relatif à la protection de la vie privée survenu

Le 29 octobre 2010


Le 4 octobre 2010, un membre du personnel d’Aide juridique Ontario a commis une erreur lors de la télécopie de renseignements qui comprenaient des noms de clients et des numéros de certificat. Le nom de certains clients et le numéro de leur certificat ont été envoyés à un cabinet d’avocat qui n’était pas celui de l’avocat qui représente ces clients.

La secrétaire du cabinet qui a reçu ces renseignements envoyés par erreur a communiqué avec Aide juridique Ontario et la transmission de la télécopie a été interrompue. Tous les documents envoyés par erreur ont été déchiquetés au cabinet d’avocat qui les a reçus et personne d’autre n’a vu les renseignements.

AJO affiche ce message pour informer les clients de cet incident relatif à la protection de la vie privée. AJO prend au sérieux son obligation de protéger les renseignements personnels de ses clients et elle s’excuse auprès des clients concernés de la divulgation inappropriée de ces renseignements. AJO prend des mesures pour étudier ses politiques et procédures dans le but de réduire les possibilités qu’une erreur similaire se produise de nouveau.

Si vous êtes un client de l’aide juridique et que vous désirez savoir si votre nom et le numéro de votre certificat faisaient partie de cette divulgation, veuillez communiquer avec Mélissa par téléphone au 416 204-4706 ou sans frais au 1 800 668-8258, poste 4706.



Expand Le 16 juillet 2007 : Avis sur la protection des renseignements personnels pour les clients

less Le 16 juillet 2007 : Avis sur la protection des renseignements personnels pour les clients

Le 16 juillet 2007

Aide juridique Ontario a montré, par mégarde, un petit nombre de renseignements personnels sur des clients en faveur desquels des dépens ont été attribués par le tribunal. Ceci a conduit à une plainte concernant la protection de la vie privée au commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée.

Dans le cadre de la résolution de cette plainte, AJO s'est engagée à afficher un avis de sécurité pour avertir les clients de la possibilité qu'un nombre limité de renseignements personnels a pu être montré. Les clients qui sont affectés sont des personnes en faveur desquelles des dépens ont été attribués par le tribunal.

Ces dépens ont été assignés à AJO. Une lettre a été envoyée, dans une enveloppe à fenêtre, à la partie adverse qui doit les dépens à AJO. En raison d'un changement du format des lettres, de janvier à juin 2007, le message suivant pouvait être lu :

"The court awarded costs on behalf of our client, (nom du client)
The Legal Aid Services Act gives Legal Aid the right to collect costs."

Aide juridique Ontario a rectifié le problème et il n'y a plus de divulgation de cette nature. AJO prend au sérieux ses obligations en matière de protection de la vie privée et elle offre ses excuses aux personnes concernées.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information d'Aide juridique Ontario en appelant au 416 979-1446 ou 1 800 668-8258.



Aide juridique Ontario (AJO) est une société autonome sans but lucratif financée par l’État et imputable devant celui-ci. Rien dans ces documents ne peut être reproduit à des fins commerciales mais copier à d'autres fins est encouragé, à condition de faire mention de la source.

© 1998-2014 Aide juridique Ontario, tous droits réservés

Protection de la vie privée  |  Énoncé des responsabilitiés  |  Avis de non-responsabilité