Accounts & billing

Billing tips for immigration and refugee lawyers

Dos and don'ts before you bill, when you bill, bill for discretion and submit dockets


Before you bill

  • Obtain all possible authorizations for work performed from the district office before starting your on-line account. This will ensure you are paid the correct tariff. Lawyer Services and Payments (LSP) will only pay up to the maximum tariff and will ask you to seek additional authorizations before considering discretion. It will also facilitate quicker payment by LAO.

  • Get pre-approval from LSP for disbursements. The Disbursements Handbook lists all disbursements requiring pre-approval. You will need to attach your invoices for such disbursements when billing. Billing unapproved disbursements may result in the denial of your expenditure for payment.

  • Additional Hearing Dates: Should only be billed if hearing proceeds and continues where evidence is heard or led. Do not bill for hearings, which though scheduled, did not take place.

When you submit a bill for payment of tariff

  • Bill hearing days correctly. Enter the specific hours that you attended, excluding wait time. Note that billing for adjournments is not permissible, unless evidence was taken before the matter adjourned. Clearly specify services you provide for hearing attendance. Generic or boiler plate descriptions such as attend hearing will not be counted as an attendance. Specify what took place and the results, if any.

  • Make your dockets as specific as possible. Detailed dockets are particularly important for discretionary increase requests, as the examiner needs to understand why you exceeded the tariff and how the work related to the Clarified Discretion Criteria, in order to justify payment.

  • Bill on time to avoid payment delays and the potential for an unpaid account. Deadlines are annual, based on each anniversary date of the certificate issue date, plus six months. For instance, the deadlines for a certificate issued on Feb. 5, 2013 are:

    • first deadline: Aug. 5, 2014
    • second deadline: Aug. 5, 2015
    • third and final deadline: Aug. 5, 2016

    Go to the Upcoming Billing Deadline report for more information, and to see account deadlines for the next 90 days.

    Get tips on how to meet LAO billing deadlines

  • Bill multiple correspondence of the same letter at 0.1 hour per letter. If your case requires you to send the same letter to many parties, such as to designated representatives, doctors etc., bill this as a single letter. In other words, cc-ing a letter to multiple parties should not be billed as multiple letters.

    LAO may pay you more than 0.1 hours for detailed letters if you explain the reason for the letter and how it is expected to advance the clients file.

  • Attach private dockets.

  • Attach BOC, narratives and notice of hearing for all subsequent hearing days.

Do not bill for:

  • Ongoing services after the date of cancellation or termination of a certificate. LAO cannot pay these bills. Contact the district office to resolve the cancellation or termination of a certificate.

  • Adjournments, first appearances as subsequent hearing days. This artificially inflates the tariff allowed and could result in unpaid accounts or post-payment examination claw-backs.

When you bill for discretion

  • Check off Yes to Are you requesting a discretionary increase? when requesting discretion. Attaching the Request Discretion Refugee law form or an explanatory letter is not enough. The illustration below shows where you need to check this off.

    After you fill in the Yes box, and after the tariff portion of the account is paid, you will get the payment message 411: Your account was paid up to the tariff maximum with the remaining discretionary portion under consideration. The discretionary portion will be processed within 60 days.

    Screenshot of option to request a discretionary increase on Legal Aid Online
    Screenshot of option to request a discretionary increase
  • If you ARE requesting discretion but DONT check off the Request Discretion box:

    • the system will pay the account for tariff only with payment message 410: Your account was paid up to the tariff maximum as no request for a discretionary increase was sought. Legal Aid may consider a request for a discretionary increase if you send a written request plus detailed dockets within 60 days. See Tariff, pages 2-19 to 2-20.
    • the system will not assign Lawyer Services and Payments staff a request for discretion to consider because it will assume your account is paid in full.
  • Use the Request Discretion Refugee law forms. Get and complete the Request for discretion Refugee law forms. These forms help you make sure your request complies with the clarified discretion guidelines.

    If your request for discretion does not address or meet the discretion guidelines, it will be denied. You will receive payment message 425: the clarified discretion criteria for exceptional circumstances have not been met. If you are dissatisfied with the disposition of this account you may apply in writing within 60 days for a review of the settlement.

Do not:

  • check off Request Discretionary Increase box when you are not requesting discretion. This could delay your payment.
  • assume that discretionary payments are the same as having a pre-approved budget. Get a mid-case management budget if appropriate.

Dos and donts for dockets

Do:

  • make sure your dates of service correspond with the dates of your dockets
  • keep your dockets chronological
  • always include times of day for all services of 0.5 hours or more
  • detail and bill for time after or before the hearing proceeding on negotiating, etc.
  • account for hearing lunch breaks; in general, hearings recess for at least an hour for lunch; LAO will deduct at least half-an-hour from your hearing time if you do not account for this
  • bill for travel time to and from hearing if you have travel authorization
  • detail hours and portions of hours, not minutes (i.e. 0.2 hours, not 10 minutes).

Do not bill for:

  • your waiting time in your hearing attendance time; if you spent time after the hearing, commenced to negotiate, etc., detail and bill the time
  • travel time to and from hearings unless you have travel authorization
  • the certificate acknowledgement fee; it is automatically calculated and included
  • voicemail messages (sent or received) or unanswered phone calls
  • time spent instructing staff and clerks, PLUS time spent by your clerk and staff receiving your instructions
  • reviewing documents that your clerk or staff has also billed for reviewing

How we pay you

Legal Aid Ontario (LAO) has a system that matches every account you submit against the amount our system says is the allowable tariff. If the account matches and there are no other billing issues (e.g. late billed) the system matches and pays the account. LAO pays your account within 21 days of its receipt through Legal Aid Online.

If your account exceeds the allowable tariff and discretion is requested, the system will pay up to the maximum amount of allowable tariff. This pay-tomax process runs twice per week. The balance of the account is assigned to staff to review and process for payment. The system uses a similar process to pay those disbursements billed within tariff, where the disbursement amount does not match.

The system will generate this message if a portion of the account is paid up to the maximum:

Your account was paid up to the tariff maximum with the remaining discretionary portion under consideration. The discretionary portion will be processed within 60 days. If there is no tariff portion, the payment will be $0.

This does not mean discretion is denied, just that staff is reviewing the discretion portion.

Comptes et facturation

Conseils de facturation pour les avocats en droit de l'immigration et des réfugiés

Ce qu'il faut faire et ne pas faire avant la facturation, pendant la facturation, pour la facturation d'augmentations discrétionnaires et pour la soumission de bordereaux

Avant la facturation

  • Obtenez toutes les autorisations possibles du bureau de district avant de commencer votre compte en ligne, pour vous assurer de recevoir le tarif approprié. Les Services aux avocats et paiements (SAP) ne paieront que jusqu’au tarif maximum et vous demanderont d’obtenir des autorisations additionnelles avant d’accorder des augmentations discrétionnaires.

  • Obtenez une approbation préalable des SAP pour des débours. Le Guide des débours énumère tous les débours pour lesquels une approbation préalable doit être obtenue. Vous devrez joindre vos factures à la demande de remboursement des débours. Vous ne pourrez pas obtenir de paiement pour des débours qui n’ont pas été approuvés.

  • Jours d'audience supplémentaires : Ne devraient être facturés que si l'audience a réellement eu lieu et que des preuves y ont été présentées. Ne facturez pas les jours à l'audience qui n'ont pas eu lieu même s'ils avaient été fixés.

Lorsque vous soumettre une facture pour un paiement selon le tarif

  • Facturez les journées de présence à l’audience correctement. Entrez le nombre exact d'heures que vous avez passées à l'audience, excluant le temps d'attente. Notez que vous n'êtes pas autorisé à facturer les ajournements sauf si des preuves ont été présentées avant que l'affaire ne soit ajournée. Précisez clairement les services que vous avez rendus pour les journées de présence à l’audience. Il ne suffit pas d’inscrire des mentions génériques ou générales comme « préparation au procès ». Indiquez ce qui s'est passé et l'issue, le cas échéant.

  • Faites en sorte que les renseignements de vos bordereaux soient aussi précis que possible. Des bordereaux détaillés sont particulièrement importants si vous présentez une demande d'augmentation discrétionnaire car la personne qui étudie la demande doit comprendre pourquoi vous devez travailler un plus grand nombre d'heures que ce que le tarif autorise et en quoi le travail respecte les lignes directrices clarifiées sur les augmentations discrétionnaires pour justifier le paiement.

  • Facturez dans les délais pour éviter des retards de paiement et le risque que votre facture ne soit pas payée. Les délais sont d’une année, à partir de la date d’anniversaire de la date de délivrance du certificat, plus six mois. Par exemple, les dates limites de soumission d’une facture pour un certificat délivré le 5 février 2013 sont les suivantes :

    • Première date limite : 5 août 2014
    • Deuxième date limite : 5 août 2015
    • Troisième et dernière date limite : 5 août 2016

    Consultez le relevé des dates limites de facturation approchantes pour de plus amples renseignements et pour connaître les dates limites des 90 prochains jours.

    Obtenez des conseils pour respecter les dates limites de facturation d’AJO.

  • Facturez plusieurs copies de la même lettre à 0,1 heure par lettre. Si votre dossier exige que vous envoyiez la même lettre à différentes parties, comme les représentants désignés, les docteurs, etc., facturez ce travail comme une seule lettre. En d'autres termes, vous ne devez pas facturer une lettre dont vous envoyez une copie à différentes personnes comme de multiples lettres.

    AJO pourrait vous payer plus de 0,1 heure pour une lettre détaillée, si vous expliquez les raisons de cette lettre et comment cette dernière fera avancer le dossier de votre client.

  • Joignez des bordereaux privés.

  • Joignez le formulaire FDA, l'exposé circonstancié et l'avis d'audience à toute journée d'audience subséquente.

Prière de ne pas facturer les actes et services suivants :

  • Services continus après la date d’annulation ou de résiliation d’un certificat. AJO ne peut pas payer ces factures. Contactez le bureau de district pour régler l’annulation ou la résiliation d’un certificat.

  • Ajournements, premières comparutions en tant que comparutions subséquentes préparatoires. La facturation pour ces services fait augmenter le nombre d'heures de votre maximum autorisé que vous avez utilisé et pourrait causer le non-paiement de vos comptes ou la récupération d'un certain montant déjà payé suite à une évaluation après paiement.

Lorsque vous facturez des augmentations discrétionnaires

  • Cochez la case « Oui » à la question « Demandez-vous une augmentation discrétionnaire? », si vous demandez une augmentation discrétionnaire. Il ne suffit pas de joindre le formulaire Demande d’augmentation discrétionnaire — droit de l'immigration et des réfugiés ou une lettre d’explication. L’illustration ci-dessous indique où vous devez cocher la case.

    Après avoir coché la case « Oui » et après que la partie du compte payée selon le tarif est payée, vous obtiendrez le message de paiement 411 suivant : Votre compte a été payé au tarif maximum. La partie de votre compte associée à une augmentation discrétionnaire ou à des débours fera l’objet d’un examen. Elle sera traitée dans environ 60 jours.

    Capture d’écran de la case « Demandez-vous une augmentation discrétionnaire
    Capture d’écran de la case « Demandez-vous une augmentation discrétionnaire »
  • Si vous DEMANDEZ une augmentation discrétionnaire, mais que vous ne cochez PAS la case de l’augmentation discrétionnaire :

    • Le système vous paiera la facture selon le tarif avec le message de paiement 410 suivant : Votre compte a été payé conformément aux limites maximales prévues par le tarif, car aucune demande d’augmentation discrétionnaire n’a été soumise. Aide juridique Ontario pourra prendre en compte une demande d’augmentation discrétionnaire si vous envoyez une demande écrite accompagnée de factures détaillées dans les 60 jours. Voir les pages 2-23 et 2-24 du Manuel du tarif et de la facturation.

    • Le système n’assignera pas un membre du personnel des Services aux avocats et paiements pour examiner une demande d’augmentation discrétionnaire, parce qu’il présumera que votre compte a été intégralement payé.

  • Utilisez le formulaire Demande d’augmentation discrétionnaire — droit de l'immigration et des réfugiés. Obtenez et remplissez le formulaire Demande d’augmentation discrétionnaire — droit de l'immigration et des réfugiés. En utilisant ce formulaire, vous vous assurez que votre demande respecte les lignes directrices sur les augmentations discrétionnaires.

    Si votre demande d’augmentation discrétionnaire ne respecte pas les lignes directrices en la matière, elle sera refusée. Vous recevrez le message de paiement 425 suivant :

    L’affaire ne répond pas au critère de circonstances exceptionnelles prévu aux lignes directrices sur les augmentations discrétionnaires. Si vous n’êtes pas satisfait du règlement de ce compte, vous pouvez envoyer une lettre dans les 60 jours demandant un réexamen du règlement.

Prière de ne pas :

  • Cocher la case « Demander une augmentation discrétionnaire » si vous ne la demandez pas. Votre paiement pourrait être retardé.

Bordereaux : à faire et à ne pas faire

À faire :

  • Vérifiez si vos dates de services correspondent aux dates de vos bordereaux;
  • Maintenez vos bordereaux dans un ordre chronologique;
  • Indiquez toujours les heures de la journée pour tous les services de 0,5 heure ou plus;
  • Fournissez des détails sur les heures consacrées à des négociations après ou avant des instances judiciaires, etc. et facturez ce temps;
  • Tenez compte des pauses-repas dans votre présence à l’audience; en général, les tribunaux font une pause d'au moins une heure pour le lunch. AJO déduira au moins une demi-heure de votre temps de présence à l’audience, si vous n’en tenez pas compte;
  • Le temps de déplacement entre l’audience et votre cabinet si vous avez obtenu une autorisation de déplacement;
  • Précisez les heures et les portions d'heures, pas les minutes (p. ex., « 0,2 heure », et non « 10 minutes »).

Do not bill for:

  • Le temps d’attente dans le temps de à l’audience. Si vous avez passé du temps après une instance judiciaire, ou si vous avez entamé des négociations, etc., précisez-le et facturez ce temps.
  • Le temps de déplacement entre l’audience et votre cabinet si vous n'avez pas obtenu d'autorisation de déplacement.
  • Les frais d’acceptation du certificat; ces frais sont automatiquement calculés et inclus dans votre compte.
  • Des messages vocaux (envoyés ou reçus) ou des appels téléphoniques si votre appel n’a pas été répondu.
  • Le temps passé à donner des instructions au personnel et aux commis, PLUS le temps que votre commis et votre personnel ont passé à recevoir vos instructions.
  • Le temps passé à examiner des documents que votre commis ou votre personnel a aussi facturé pour leur examen des mêmes documents.

Comment nous vous payons

Aide juridique Ontario (AJO) a mis en place un système qui compare chaque compte que vous soumettez au montant que son système déclare comme étant le tarif autorisé. Si les deux montants correspondent et qu’il n’y a pas de problème de facturation (p. ex., facturation tardive), le système réconcilie les comptes et procède au paiement. AJO paie votre compte dans les 21 jours de sa réception par le biais d’Aide juridique en ligne.

Si votre compte dépasse le tarif autorisé et qu’une augmentation discrétionnaire est demandée, le système paiera jusqu’au montant maximal du tarif autorisé. Ce processus est enclenché deux fois par semaine. Le solde du compte est soumis à l’examen du personnel qui ordonnera le paiement si c’est indiqué. Le système utilise un procédé semblable pour payer les frais facturés selon le tarif, lorsque les montants des débours ne correspondent pas.

Le système générera le message suivant si une partie du compte est payée jusqu’au maximum du tarif autorisé :

Votre compte a été payé au tarif maximum. La partie de votre compte associée à une augmentation discrétionnaire ou à des débours fera l’objet d’un examen. Elle sera traitée dans les 60 jours.

Cela ne signifie pas que l’augmentation discrétionnaire est refusée, mais que le personnel examine la partie augmentation discrétionnaire.