Fact sheets

Services for lawyers

Legal Aid Ontarios online billing better for lawyers

As of Sept. 25, 2014, 5,007 panel lawyers eligible to take certificates from across the province were assisting legal aid clients with matters ranging from criminal trials to family law disputes. Legal Aid Ontario (LAO) acknowledges the importance of this work with a commitment to improving services for these lawyers.

This commitment includes continued improvements to the online billing system, Legal Aid Online. Beginning with the Online Lawyer Acknowledgement initiative in 2007, (which allows lawyers who do legal aid work to acknowledge legal aid certificates online), LAO has made additional improvements, including the ability to view certificate amendments and authorizations online, as well as security and features upgrades to the billing system.

Client information update

Clients often miss important mailings from Legal Aid Ontario because they have moved, and did not update their address. To help resolve this issue, lawyers can instantly update their clients information through the online billing portal, ensuring their client receive important information relating to their legal aid certificate or contribution agreement.

Updates by text message

Lawyers can receive important information about certificates while they are on the go, attending court and dealing with a busy practice. Lawyers have the option of receiving notification of approved certificate amendments or authorizations via email or text message alert.

Online training and tutorials

Training tutorial podcasts for lawyers are available on LAOs website on the Legal Aid Online page. These tutorials cover everything from the basics of how to sign in and create an account, to information on submitting criminal accounts with multiple proceedings. Lawyers can also view online tutorials that provide training on LAOs block fee program.

Billing support for lawyers

Lawyers using Legal Aid Online can get assistance by calling the toll-free Lawyer Service Centre (LSC) at 1-866-979-9934. The LSC is available Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and is committed to providing the highest-quality customer service to lawyers and legal office staff. Specifically, the LSC will provide assistance with:

  • Accessing and using Legal Aid Online
  • Account requests and inquiries
  • Contact information and updates
  • Tier level change requests
  • Tariff and billing information

Print version

Services for lawyers
Print this fact sheet | PDF, 73 KB

Questions

For more information on this topic contact media@lao.on.ca

Fiches de renseignements

Services aux avocats

La facturation en ligne d'Aide juridique Ontario est avantageuse pour les avocats

En date du 25 septembre 2014, il y a en Ontario 5 007 avocats inscrits sur les listes qui peuvent accepter des certificats. Plus de 4 500 avocats. Plus de 4 500 avocats à l'échelle de la province aident les clients d'aide juridique dans des affaires allant des procès criminels aux conflits familiaux. Aide juridique Ontario (AJO) reconnaît l'importance du travail de ces avocats et elle est déterminée à améliorer les services qu'elle leur procure.

Ceci comprend des améliorations continuelles au système électronique de facturation Aide juridique en ligne. AJO a entamé la ronde des améliorations en 2007 avec l'accusé de réception en ligne. D'autres améliorations se sont ajoutées, notamment la possibilité d'accéder instantannément à un certificat, des modifications et autorisations en ligne et des mises à niveaux des fonctions et de la sécurité du système de facturation en ligne.

Mise à jour du profil du client

Il arrive souvent que les clients ne reçoivent pas des communications importantes d'Aide juridique Ontario parce qu'ils ont déménagé et ont omis d'en avertir AJO. Pour remédier à une telle situation, AJO a ajouté une fonction au site de facturation qui permet aux avocats de mettre à jour les renseignements personnels d'un client instantanément, de sorte que le client puisse recevoir les renseignements importants relatifs à leur certificat d'aide juridique ou à leur entente de contribution.

Mises à jour par message texte

Les avocats peuvent recevoir des renseignements importants au sujet des certificats lorsqu'ils sont en déplacement ou au tribunal ou qu'ils effectuent d'autres fonctions. Les avocats peuvent choisir de recevoir les avis de modification et d'autorisation relatifs à un certificat soit par courriel soit par message texte.

Formation et tutoriels en ligne

Des vidéos de formation sont mis à la disposition des avocats sur le site Web d'AJO à la page Aide juridique en ligne. Les vidéos traitent de tous les aspects d'Aide juridique en ligne, de l'ouverture d'une session et de la création d'un compte à la soumission des comptes criminels relatifs à des instances multiples. Les avocats ont également accès à une video qui donne de la formation sur le programme d'honoraires forfaitaires d'AJO.

Soutien aux avocats

Les avocats peuvent recevoir de l'aide relativement à Aide jurtidique en ligne en parlant à un représentant du Centre d'aide aux avocats (CAA) au 416 979-9934. Le CAA, qui est déterminé à fournir des services de qualité aux avocats et au personnel de leur cabinet, est ouvert du lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30. Le CAA procure de l'assistance dans les situations suivantes :

  • Accès et utilisation d'Aide juridique en ligne;
  • Demandes relatives à un compte;
  • Coordonnées et mises à jour;
  • Demandes de changement de niveau;
  • Renseignements sur le tarif et la facturation

Version imprimable

Services aux avocatso
Imprimez la fiche de renseignements | PDF, 73 KB

Questions

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur ce sujet, contacter media@lao.on.ca