Board advisory committees

Terms of reference of the Legal Aid Ontario Advisory Committees

Terms of Reference of the Advisory Committees
(Hereinafter referred to as the Committees)

Legal Aid Ontario
(Hereinafter referred to as the Corporation)

1. Introduction

Section 7 of the Legal Aid Services Act, states that the LAO Board must establish advisory committees in the areas of criminal, family and clinic law. This section also gives the Board the authority to establish any other advisory committee that it considers appropriate.

2. Mandate

The mandate of the Advisory Committees is to provide input and advice to the LAO Board to support LAOs annual strategic and business planning process.

3. Objectives

3.1 Role of the Advisory Committees

The role and objectives for the advisory committees are to:

  • Provide expertise and advice to the LAO Board in order to ensure that the Board is informed about environmental factors that have the potential to affect LAOs clients and service delivery and that should be taken into consideration during the strategic and business planning process;

  • Review and provide input on proposed service priorities and initiatives that are being considered for inclusion in the next LAO business plan;

  • Report to the Board on any other issues that affect access to justice for low-income Ontarians or inform the development of longer-term strategic and business planning.

3.2 Number of Advisory Committees

Section 7(1) of the Legal Aid Services Act requires that the Board establish advisory committees in the areas of criminal law, family law and clinic law. In addition, the Board has established advisory committees in the areas of immigration and refugee law, mental health law, prison law, Aboriginal issues and French language services.

3.3. Committee Responsibilities

Each Committee will be responsible for providing input and advice that relates to their respective areas of law or specialization.

3.4 Confidentiality

There is no expectation that the deliberations and discussions of the advisory committees, other than on specific requests identified in the LAO Business Plan and potential business plan commitments, must be kept confidential. At each meeting, the Chair will identify any items that must remain confidential and the Chairs instructions on confidentiality will be reflected in the meeting notes.

3.5 Membership

3.5.1 Committee Chair

The Chair of the LAO Board will Chair each advisory committee.

The role of the Chair is to prepare committee agendas, chair committee meetings and bring the minutes of committee meetings before the Board, in addition to any other duties recommended herein.

The Chair is supported in this role by dedicated LAO Policy department staff.

3.5.2 Composition and Size

There is no specific number of members for each advisory committee, but they would ideally have membership somewhere between 5 to 12 and, where possible, would include the following:

  • A former client/user of LAO services;
  • One or more individuals with experience as a legal aid services provider;
  • At least one individual who has experience as a non-affiliated service provider;
  • Individuals who have worked in community organizations providing services to same clientele;
  • Geographic representation from across the province;
  • An academic expert in the relevant area(s) of law, where appropriate;
  • Aboriginal representation, where appropriate
  • An LAO Board Member.

LAO staff, including staff duty counsel and retained area directors, may be invited to meetings to provide support to the committees but may not be appointed as committee members.

3.5.3 Appointment and Role of Committee Members

The LAO Chair, in consultation with the Board, has the authority to appoint members of each advisory committee upon consulting with the CEO.

Committee members are not limited to participating in a representative capacity. They are appointed as individuals and not as representatives of any particular agency or group. They should draw on their own experiences and expertise when offering advice.

The committees are intended to function as an expert panel to advise the LAO Board. The Board has the power to invite experts who are not appointed members to attend committee meetings as special guests, as needed.

3.5.4 Term

Each committee member will be appointed for a three year term. Optional two-year appointments are also available. Each member should be eligible for reappointment, subject to the Boards approval. The LAO Chair has the authority to remove committee members at his or her pleasure. In the event of a vacancy, the LAO Chair may appoint new member(s) mid-term, in accordance with this policy.

3.6 Advisory Committee Reports

Advisory committee meeting notes should proceed to the LAO Board as an informational item so as to inform the Boards business planning process. Meeting notes will be circulated to the committees before they are submitted to the Board.

3.7 LAO Support

LAO Policy department staff will provide support to each advisory committee, including distributing materials, drafting meeting notes, organizing meetings, and acting as a resource during advisory committee meetings. LAO staff will prepare and distribute committee materials in sufficient time to allow committee members to prepare adequately for the meetings.

Additional LAO staff may be invited to committee meetings to perform a supporting role, such as making a presentation or responding to questions on particular issues, but they do not participate as committee members.

If operational issues are raised at meetings, LAO staff attending the meetings will direct these issues to the appropriate staff for resolution. The resolution of operational issues is not the responsibility of the LAO Board.

3.8 Frequency of Meetings

Advisory committees should meet in person at least twice per year, in the Spring and Fall, so that their input can be considered within LAOs business planning process. Spring meetings will be used to inform the environmental scanning process and Fall meetings will be used to seek input on draft business planning priorities and initiatives. Advisory committees may meet more frequently if the Chair believes that it is warranted. Additional meetings can be held by way of telephone or video conferencing.

3.9 Meeting Expenses and Remuneration

Committee members are to be reimbursed for their reasonable expenses in accordance with LAO policies.

3.10 Effective Date

These terms shall come into force on the day they are passed by the Board.

Comités consultatifs du conseil d’administration

Mandat des comités consultatifs d'Aide juridique Ontario

Mandat des comités consultatifs
(ci-après désignés les « comités »)

Aide juridique Ontario
(ci-après désignée la « société »)

1. Introduction

L’article 7 de la Loi sur les services d’aide juridique stipule que le conseil d’administration d’AJO doit créer des comités consultatifs dans les domaines du droit criminel, du droit de la famille et du droit des domaines de pratique des cliniques. Cet article donne aussi au conseil d’administration l’autorité de créer tout autre comité consultatif qu’il juge nécessaire.

2. Mandat

Les comités consultatifs ont pour mandat de faire des suggestions et de fournir des conseils au conseil d’administration d’AJO pour appuyer le processus annuel de planification stratégique et de planification des activités d’AJO.

3. Objectifs

3.1 Rôle des comités consultatifs

Le rôle et les objectifs des comités sont les suivants :

  • fournir expertise et conseils au conseil d’administration d’AJO pour veiller à ce que le conseil connaisse les facteurs environnementaux susceptibles d’affecter les clients et la prestation des services, qui devraient être pris en compte lors du processus de planification stratégique et de planification des activités;
  • étudier les priorités de service et les initiatives proposées en fonction de leur inclusion dans le nouveau plan d’activités d’AJO et faire des suggestions;
  • présenter au conseil d’administration un rapport sur toute autre question qui a une incidence sur l’accès à la justice pour les personnes à faible revenu en Ontario et sur l’élaboration de la planification stratégique à long terme.

3.2 Nombre de comités consultatifs

Le paragraphe 7 (1) de la Loi sur les services d’aide juridique prévoit la création par le conseil d’administration de comités consultatifs dans les domaines du droit criminel, du droit de la famille et du droit des domaines de pratique des cliniques. En outre, le conseil d’administration a créé des comités consultatifs dans les domaines du droit de l’immigration et des réfugiés, du droit de la santé mentale, du droit des prisons, des affaires autochtones et des services en français.

3.3. Responsabilités des comités

Les comités seront responsables de faire des suggestions et de fournir des conseils reliés à leur domaine de droit respectif ou leur spécialité.

3.4 Confidentialité

On ne s’attend pas à ce que les discussions et les débats des comités consultatifs soient confidentiels, sauf dans les cas où une demande particulière en ce sens a été faite dans le cadre de la planification des activités ou des engagements possibles à l’égard de la planification des activités. À chaque réunion, le président fera connaître tout ce qui doit être gardé confidentiel et les directives du président au sujet de la confidentialité seront notées dans le compte rendu.

3.5 Composition des comités

3.5.1 Président de comité

Le président du conseil d’administration d’AJO sera le président du conseil de tous les comités consultatifs.

Le rôle du président est de préparer l’ordre du jour des réunions des comités, de présider les réunions des comités et de présenter au conseil d’administration les comptes-rendus des réunions des comités, en complément de toute autre tâche recommandée dans le présent document.

Le président est appuyé dans son rôle par un membre déterminé du Service des politiques d’AJO.

3.5.2 Composition et nombre

Il n’y a pas de nombre de membres imposé pour chaque comité consultatif, mais il est préférable que ce nombre se situe entre 5 et 12 et, dans la mesure du possible, les comités devraient comprendre les membres suivants :

  • un ancien client ou utilisateur des services d’AJO;
  • une ou plusieurs personnes ayant une expérience de prestataire de services d’aide juridique;
  • au moins une personne ayant une expérience de prestataire de services non affilié;
  • des personnes ayant travaillé dans des organismes communautaires fournissant des services à la même clientèle;
  • une représentation géographique de toute la province;
  • un expert d’une université spécialiste dans le domaine du droit pertinent, au besoin;
  • un représentant autochtone, au besoin;
  • un membre du conseil d’administration d’AJO.

Les membres du personnel d’AJO, y compris les avocats de service et les directeurs régionaux à contrat, pourraient être invités aux réunions pour épauler le comité, mais ils ne peuvent être nommés membres du comité.

3.5.3 Nomination et rôle des membres des comités consultatifs

Le président du conseil d’administration d’AJO, en accord avec le conseil d’administration, est habilité à nommer les membres de chaque comité consultatif, en concertation avec le ou la P.-D.G.

La participation des membres des comités ne se limite pas à leurs fonctions de représentation. Ceux-ci sont nommés en tant qu’individus et non comme représentants d’un groupe ou d’un organisme particulier. Lorsqu’ils donnent leur avis, ils doivent s’inspirer de leurs propres expériences et savoir-faire.

Les comités sont censés servir de groupes d’experts pour conseiller le conseil d’administration d’AJO. Le conseil dispose du pouvoir d’inviter des experts qui ne sont pas membres du comité à assister aux réunions, au besoin.

3.5.4 Durée du mandat

Les membres des comités sont nommés pour un mandat de trois ans. Au choix, le mandat peut également être limité à deux ans. Ce mandat peut être renouvelé, sous réserve de l’accord du conseil d’administration. Le président du conseil d’administration d’AJO dispose du pouvoir discrétionnaire de révoquer les membres des comités consultatifs. En cas de poste(s) à pourvoir, le président du conseil d’administration d’AJO pourra procéder à la nomination, à moyen terme, du(des) nouveau(x) membre(s), conformément à la présente politique.

3.6 Rapports des comités consultatifs

Les comptes rendus de réunion des comités doivent être adressés au conseil d’administration d’AJO en tant que document d’information utile pour la planification des activités et le processus de prise des décisions du conseil d’administration. Les comptes rendus seront distribués aux membres du comité avant d’être présentés au conseil d’administration.

3.7 Soutien d’AJO

Un membre du personnel du service des politiques d’AJO apportera son soutien à chaque comité consultatif, soit, entre autres, en distribuant du matériel, en rédigeant l’ébauche des procès-verbaux des réunions, en organisant les réunions et en apportant son aide lors des réunions des comités. Le personnel d’AJO préparera et distribuera le matériel concernant les comités dans un délai qui permette aux membres des comités de bien se préparer pour les réunions.

D’autres membres du personnel d’AJO pourraient être invités aux réunions des comités pour exécuter un rôle de soutien comme faire un exposé ou répondre aux questions sur des sujets particuliers, mais ils ne participent pas en tant que membres du comité.

Si des questions d’ordre opérationnel sont soulevées aux réunions, le membre du personnel d’AJO qui assiste aux réunions portera ces questions à la personne qui en la charge, aux fins de résolution. Le conseil d’administration n’a pas la responsabilité de régler les questions d’ordre opérationnel.

3.8 Fréquence des réunions

Les comités consultatifs doivent se réunir en personne au moins deux fois par an, au printemps et à l’automne, de façon à ce que leurs suggestions puissent être prises en compte dans le processus de planification des activités d’AJO. Les réunions du printemps serviront à guider le processus d’analyse de l’environnement et celle de l’automne, à recueillir les suggestions sur les priorités et initiatives sur lesquelles l’ébauche de la planification des activités sera fondée. Les comités peuvent se réunir plus fréquemment si le président du conseil d’administration d’AJO l’estime justifié. Des réunions supplémentaires peuvent être organisées sous forme de téléconférence ou de vidéoconférence.

3.9 Dépenses relatives aux réunions et rémunération

Les membres des comités consultatifs peuvent obtenir le remboursement de leurs dépenses raisonnables conformément aux politiques d’AJO.

3.10 Date d’entrée en vigueur

Les présentes modalités entreront en vigueur le jour où elles auront été validées par le conseil d’administration.